[SOLVED] Kindly help to upgrade IBM Think Center A50 8175-KQU, S/N 2FMHBZ8. PRocessor, Motherboard, RAM, SMPS..

Mar 14, 2020
I have IBM ThinkCentre A50 8175-KQU.

It's SMPS is not working I need the replacement. But most important I was wondering can I replace my motherboard and processor, SMPS and RAM. Kindly help directing what is best to buy all this under $200

Kindly share some sources, because I'm new to attempting to upgrade this whole old system.

Thank you

Solution
Power supply
Okay got it.

Well, you have an almost 20 year old IBM system. To help you understand how old it is, IBM was bought out by Lenovo so many years ago that the IBM name doesn't appear on any personal computer for almost a decade now. Your system was deemed End of Life by IBM on 12-31-2009.

Now that all being said, IBM made extremely excellent systems back in this era as I still have some of them. My dad's system is an IBM 8189 and is still working today. Not only that, IBM's documentation for these systems was top notch even by today's standards.

So let's get started. First off, your exact system (8175-KQU) does not show up in the hardware service manual here...
Mar 14, 2020
I have IBM ThinkCentre A50 8175-KQU.

It's SMPS is not working I need the replacement. But most important I was wondering can I replace my motherboard and processor, SMPS and RAM. Kindly help directing what is best to buy all this under $200

Kindly share some sources, because I'm new to attempting to upgrade this whole old system.

Thank you

That system uses Intel 865GV Chipset which is a year 2003 model.

HP Flagship Pro Desktop 2018 Computer

Reactions: rohitkumarav
Mar 14, 2020
That system uses Intel 865GV Chipset which is a year 2003 model.

HP Flagship Pro Desktop 2018 Computer
It's really good processor but I'm based in India. :-(

froggx

Honorable
Sep 6, 2017