Question Laptop CPU Heatsink mount repair

fallout2077

Reputable
Apr 24, 2015
Hey there, folks. On the continuing journey of repairing my shut-down-ridden MSI GT70 2PC, I've come upon the steps to remedy a possible culprit. Around the time the shut downs started occurring, I noticed that the one of the CPU heatsink mounts (the one nearest the RAM sticks) on the motherboard seperated from the board itself and is now attached only by the screw in the heatsink. Reading around the web from those experiencing similar situations has led me that epoxy would be a good solution to the problem, as it would be a strong bond and heat-resistant. The thing is, I've never worked with epoxy before, and I'm ignorant as to whether or not there are certain varieties better suited to motherboard application. Could some of you better versed in the subject offer me any suggestions as to which epoxy to use, or would any epoxy work? Thank you in advance!

fallout2077

Reputable
Apr 24, 2015
Can you can take a picture of the broken screw mount you're referring to and upload it here? Often times the mounts/standoffs are not attached to any circuit board, they're part of the casing. A little context/picture here will help. :)
Here you go. If you need me to re-open the laptop and remove the heatsinks, just tell me and I will. I avoided it for now since I didn't want to bother the thermal paste I applied last night, especially since I don't have any left.

Mount

Here you go. If you need me to re-open the laptop and remove the heatsinks, just tell me and I will. I avoided it for now since I didn't want to bother the thermal paste I applied last night, especially since I don't have any left.

Mount
Thanks! As best as I can see it, it looks like the mount you're referring to is attached to the chassis, while the board has a cutout for clearance. If you're lucky, that spacer screw can be tightened.