Dreamslayer

Reputable
Mar 12, 2016
Hello, and thanks for opening this thread! Tonight my 1 year old laptop has started making very, very loud whirring sounds which seem to come from the fans. I am not 100% sure if the sound is caused by the fans (I am not a tech expert) but I am 99%, as it sounds too much different from HDD sounds I have been finding online. I have recorded a very bad case of this, so listen for yourself: https://vocaroo.com/i/s0JRmK6raUcU

Most of the time it is just random, short bursts of whirring sounds, but this is a case in which it kept going for a solid 30 seconds. The whirring can happen in any case: it first happened while I was loading a game of League of Legends, but it can happen literally everytime, even when the laptop is at standard temperatures (40-60°C). So, I wanna ask: is there any way to fix this and determine the causes? Has excessive dust gotten into the fans? Is it an issue with the sensors? Maybe it's not the fans???? Another thing that I thought was weird is that GPU-Z keeps saying that fan speed is at 19% at all times but Fan Speed (RPM) is at 0. I have no idea what is happening, so I would like some tips! Also, is there any way I can fix this without fully opening the laptop? The laptop took a very bad fall 3 months ago and now I can't close the lid or bend it too much, or I risk breaking it completely. With this handicap as you might understand it would be very hard for me (or a technic) to open the bottom of the laptop up, although I can still flip it over pretty easily if this can be fixed by blowing air into the vents or something. Thank you for reading and replying!

From the recording it sounds like the CPU fan. Sounds to me like a ball bearing in the fan being the problem. Could be terribly wrong though. I'm afraid it's one of those things we can't really tell unless it's physically in front of us.

Also, did you use GPU-Z or CPU-Z?

Dreamslayer

Reputable
Mar 12, 2016