[SOLVED] Laptop turns off on its own randomly, not sure why. Turns back on normally after, but randomly turns off again after a few hours of use ?

d_a_renoir

Prominent
Apr 24, 2022
I have a laptop that I have been using for many years, and yesterday it suddenly just turns off on its own without warning. Today the same thing happened again.
I've looked around and the causes suggested by the sites are overheating, malware, and failing battery. Based on Malwarebytes and Avast scans, laptop is clean of malware. The laptop is old enough that it's possible the fan has worn out, or the battery has worn out. Is there a way to check if my battery is busted? It's still charging normally so far, so I don't know if that is what's causing the sudden shutdowns, or if it's caused by overheat.

Solution
I said this in my first post already: I want to know if there's a software to check if my battery is going bad or not.
Ok, then.

For that you really don't need a separate program, just follow this guide:

Then you may report back the result if you want help to interpret the results :D
I'd suggest you inform also what model you have and what age.

Some few years ago I bought an used acer aspire very cheap (about $35-50 after conversion), but when starting to use, it had the same tendencies as yours. I never figured out what was the exact fault, but my suspicion went to the motherboard and that there must have being a bad solder spot under one of the major chips, possible chipset or GPU.

Some advises before you give up on this computer (if you intend to keep it)
  • Backup your data (important files) to a secondary storage device - external hdd is recommended, usb thumb drive can also be used but less secure, and remember to always use secure ramoval of hardware before unplugging.
  • have an actual check on temperatures and try to remove dust collected in (literally inside so you have to disassemble) the fans.
  • Before next step: Check the health of the HDD or SSD