League of Legends: Gaining Elo

AssumingUnicorn

Honorable
May 14, 2013
5GsoMLu.png

Hello Summoner and welcome to my League of Legends ranked mode guide! Here, I'll be covering as much as I can when it comes to competitive play. From before hitting that start game button to heading into Summoner's Rift, I'll cover as much as I can so I can help you gain elo and get the border you've always wanted!

Table of Contents:

1. Introduction

The Basics:
2. Setting up
a. Runes+Masteries+Summoner Spells
b. Solo or duo?
c. Mentality
d. Surroundings

3. Champion Select
a. Ban+Pick phase
b. Runes+Masteries
c. Knowing your team
d. Trolls

Tips:
4. Farming minions
5. Harassing
6. Map awareness
7. Team fights
8. Trinkets
9. Team synergy
10. Death timers
11. Smart casting
12. Pings
13. Objective control

Introduction:

Let me start out by introducing myself: I started playing League of Legends shortly after it was officially released as the summoner name AsumingUnicorn (not AssumingUnicorn because I couldn't have "ass" in the name. I started playing ranked towards the end of season 1 and achieved silver as my highest rank at the end and got Judgment Kayle as a reward. Since I was new to the game, I didn't focus on any lanes.

Season 2 was the same where I played ranked towards the end and I got a little more competitive and got Victorious Janna. In season 2, I started to play top and mid more often so I mained champions who excelled in their lanes, were top tier, and stupidly overpowered. In my case, Vladimir was my go to champion to gain easy elo back in season 2. According to LoLKing in season 2 I played 47 ranked games and 32 of them were Vladimir with my highest rank being Gold 2 (~1450 elo) averaging about 180 minion kills per game and my kda being about 3.5 so I wasn't that amazing in season 2, but hey, we all start somewhere, right?