[SOLVED] Left domain, can't log in session anymore

Jun 2, 2021
2
0
10
0
Hi everybody!

I wanted to leave the domain my computer was in so I went in Control Panel > System > Change settings > Network ID and chose "this is a home computer; it's not part of a business network".

Since that, I can't log anymore on that session, even using domain\username. I finally succeed to find a local account I created years ago so I can log on it and find my files from it. However, I want to understand where my first account went and why can't I log on it since I have lots of settings on it and don't really want to make everything again if possible.

Thank you in advance,
Matt
 

hang-the-9

Titan
Moderator
Mar 25, 2010
60,214
1,037
152,890
16,799
Thank you all for your answers.

I know that it was logic but I still wanted to know if there was some way to put back my account on the domain by myself as I succeed to leave it without more permissions, why not the other way...
You need an active connection to the domain to be added to it. You need to be connected to the domain network that computer was from, have the proper local account and network account rights, then you can add it back in. If this is a work or school computer, contact your IT support.
 

ex_bubblehead

Champion
Moderator
Hi everybody!

I wanted to leave the domain my computer was in so I went in Control Panel > System > Change settings > Network ID and chose "this is a home computer; it's not part of a business network".

Since that, I can't log anymore on that session, even using domain\username. I finally succeed to find a local account I created years ago so I can log on it and find my files from it. However, I want to understand where my first account went and why can't I log on it since I have lots of settings on it and don't really want to make everything again if possible.

Thank you in advance,
Matt
You need to take that computer to your network administrators and have them rejoin it to the domain. Though I myself wouldn't trust them as far as I could throw them for giving users the permissions to change things like domain membership.
 

hang-the-9

Titan
Moderator
Mar 25, 2010
60,214
1,037
152,890
16,799
Hi everybody!

I wanted to leave the domain my computer was in so I went in Control Panel > System > Change settings > Network ID and chose "this is a home computer; it's not part of a business network".

Since that, I can't log anymore on that session, even using domain\username. I finally succeed to find a local account I created years ago so I can log on it and find my files from it. However, I want to understand where my first account went and why can't I log on it since I have lots of settings on it and don't really want to make everything again if possible.

Thank you in advance,
Matt
This is perfectly normal, you removed the system from the domain, so domain accounts no longer work on it. It's like saying "I went and ate my ham for dinner but now I can't find it in my refrigerator". It's all as it should be, normal result of removing system from a domain.
 
Jun 2, 2021
2
0
10
0
Thank you all for your answers.

I know that it was logic but I still wanted to know if there was some way to put back my account on the domain by myself as I succeed to leave it without more permissions, why not the other way...
 
Your domain profile is different than the local one and that’s why once you’ve left you can’t log back on. The person who maintains the domain is going to have to remove your computer entry first in order for you to re-join

Can still log into your other account profile
 

hang-the-9

Titan
Moderator
Mar 25, 2010
60,214
1,037
152,890
16,799
Thank you all for your answers.

I know that it was logic but I still wanted to know if there was some way to put back my account on the domain by myself as I succeed to leave it without more permissions, why not the other way...
You need an active connection to the domain to be added to it. You need to be connected to the domain network that computer was from, have the proper local account and network account rights, then you can add it back in. If this is a work or school computer, contact your IT support.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY