Lenovo ThinkCentre m57p Upgrade

MidWiz10

Commendable
Jan 23, 2017
Hi guys

What type of PCIe slot does the motherboard of the old Lenovo ThinkCentre m57p have? I have one laying around and I want to hook up a graphics card to it. I was thinking about buying an AMD RX 460 for this purpose but since the motherboard is old I tought that it mght not actually work. Sorry if this is a really lame question but I'm a beginner in this domain so, please, don't be rude to me. And sorry if my english is bad, I'm from Romania.

Thanks!

Solution
Greetings!

The RX 460 should fit in the PCIe slot that is available on the motherboard, and could potentially work just fine as long as you get a variant that does not require extra power connection from the PSU. Here is an option:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814137028#close

The concern howerver, is that your computer has a PSU that is probably around 280 - 300 Watts. Some RX 460s are an 84W card, but can ramp up to over 100W under load. Here is a link to a test, but this was with a card that required an extra 6 pin connection from the power supply:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd-radeon-rx-460,4707-5.html

This is a bit of concern for your power supply may not be able to power the card...

Albionm00n

Reputable
Jan 31, 2016
Greetings!

The RX 460 should fit in the PCIe slot that is available on the motherboard, and could potentially work just fine as long as you get a variant that does not require extra power connection from the PSU. Here is an option:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814137028#close

The concern howerver, is that your computer has a PSU that is probably around 280 - 300 Watts. Some RX 460s are an 84W card, but can ramp up to over 100W under load. Here is a link to a test, but this was with a card that required an extra 6 pin connection from the power supply:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd-radeon-rx-460,4707-5.html