[SOLVED] Lian Li Lancool II Mesh performance fan controller question

Aug 10, 2021
this may be a stupid question. I've never used a fan controller before (been a while since I upgraded my last PC) and I have the Lian Li Lancool II Mesh Performance in (that's a mouthful of a case name). It has a fan controller on it with 6 ports...3 of them filled with the 3 case fans (2 140 mm fronts, 1 120 mm rear exhaust). I grabbed a pair of NF-A14 PWM 140 mm fans for the top of the case, and a single NF-F12 for the psu shroud.

my question is. Being that I'm using a different brand fans for the final 3 case fans from the ones that the Lancool II perf comes with, is there any conflict using the fan controller for those 3 added fans or should I connect them to the motherboard? The reason I ask is because I found out when building a buddies PC that if you used different types of RGB fans on a corsair RGB controller they wouldn't work right unless they were in a certain order and all the same brand.... I know a fan controller isn't an RGB controller, but since I'm new to fan controllers I wanted to see if there would be any conflicts adding different fans to run with the Lian Li fans on the fan controller before I installed everything (I have all the parts, just waiting on the thermal paste to come in so I haven't started building yet)

Solution
I wanted to see if there would be any conflicts
it really depends on how the fan hub is being controlled.

if it reads from a motherboard PWM header for motherboard fan curve control then having different model fans will screw up their RPM synchronization.

if it just being controlled by a front panel switch then the different settings will just be a % of the maximum RPM and shouldn't make any difference.
is there any conflict using the fan controller for those 3 added fans or should I connect them to the motherboard?