Lightning Greaves

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Question:

Is it true that you can't equip Lightning Greaves to multiple creatures
just summoned to "give them all haste"
since haste is an ability that must last until end of turn?

Thanks
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Thu, 2 Dec 2004 09:55:24 +0200, Rudolphs <rudolphcp@telkomsa.net> wrote:
> Is it true that you can't equip Lightning Greaves to multiple creatures
>just summoned to "give them all haste"

Well, you -can-, but since they only have the haste from the Greaves as long
as the Greaves are attached to each one, it's generally not useful to do this
if your aim is to -attack- with them.

>since haste is an ability that must last until end of turn?

What? I have no idea what you're talking about. Haste is a continuous ability;
it can have a duration, or not. If a local enchantment or Equipment is granting
Haste to whatever it's attached to, "Enchanted/equipped creature has Haste",
then that lasts exactly as long as the enchantment or Equipment is attached
to that creature.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Thu, 2 Dec 2004, Rudolphs wrote:

> Question:
>
> Is it true that you can't equip Lightning Greaves to multiple creatures
> just summoned to "give them all haste"

You can give haste to as many creatures as you want. But as soon
Lightning Greaves stops equiping a creature the creature doesn't have
haste anymore. So LG can give haste to at most one creature at a time.

> since haste is an ability that must last until end of turn?

what?

--
David
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Thu, 2 Dec 2004 09:55:24 +0200, "Rudolphs" <rudolphcp@telkomsa.net>
wrote:

> Is it true that you can't equip Lightning Greaves to multiple creatures
>just summoned to "give them all haste"
>since haste is an ability that must last until end of turn?

Umm, no...? Not entirely sure what you are asking, but I hope this
privides an answer for you:

A creature only needs haste the moment it is checked for - eg. if you
try to play an activated ability with a tap symbol in the cost, then
as a part of announcing the ability you need to pay the cost. Now if
this creature has summoning sickness, then you can't pay the tap cost
and the game rewinds the illegally played ability. Except if your
creature has haste (right at that point in time), then you can pay and
all goes well.
It won't matter if the creature loses haste as soon as the ability has
been played (been placed on the stack), because it did have haste when
it needed to tap.
So you can play 3 creatures (without haste), and then equip them with
the Greaves one at a time and play their tap abilities.

On the other hand, you can't play 3 creatures (without haste), and
then attack with all 3 of them the same turn if your only source of
haste is a single pair of Lightning Greaves. They all need haste
during the beginning of the declare attackers step, but you can't move
the Greaves at that time (or play anything else for that matter), so
at most one of them can have haste at that time.

--
Regards
Simon Nejmann
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Simon Nejmann <snejmann@worldonline.REMOVETHIS.dk> wrote:
>A creature only needs haste the moment it is checked for - eg. if you
>try to play an activated ability with a tap symbol in the cost, then
>as a part of announcing the ability you need to pay the cost. Now if
>this creature has summoning sickness, then you can't pay the tap cost
>and the game rewinds the illegally played ability.

Technical point: the problem isn't actually "you can't pay the tap cost", it's
"you can't play the ability", because it has the tap-symbol in its activation
cost. And that gets checked for before you can start to play it. So in general
you won't get far enough to realize "hey, I'm trying to pay the cost of this
ability I can't be playing".

(Of course, if you don't -realize- you can't play it until partway through,
and opponent didn't catch it either, then yes, you have to rewind...)

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Oh no! It's Rudolphs!
> Question:
>
> Is it true that you can't equip Lightning Greaves to multiple creatures
> just summoned to "give them all haste"
> since haste is an ability that must last until end of turn?

Ummm... that's not *why* this isn't a useful thing to do, but it isn't a
useful thing to do. The creature with the Greaves will only have Haste
as long as the Greaves are actually on it, so only one creature can
attack as a result of this ability each turn. It could enable multiple
creatures to use tap abilities, I suppose, but it's hard to make that
all that useful short of building your whole deck around it.