Linux Backup software

RavenRM

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2013
Hi, I am new to the Linux environment and still learning but I have to say I love it! One thing I am not sure about is I have setup a computer running Linux mint. Now i want software that will serve as backup for another windows machine. The thing is i have tried using Box Backup but i just get confused although from what i have read it would be the perfect backup solution. I basically need the software to backup as much as possible meaning files and settings configs all of that. The windows machine has a dot matrix printer installed on it and allot of applications that is so time consuming to install and setup if you need to re install after a HDD crash or whatever the reason may be. Does anybody know of software i can use and is there a how to guide lol. Please provide links if possible =)

Solution
You can turn your Ubuntu into your Own Cloud

I know nothing about Cobian Backup, but it seems that your v8 is quite old and no longer supported. Check with the developer whethr it provides for "bare metal restore" before spending efforts on that.

RavenRM

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2013
Thank you for the reply. The thing is I need software that can backup system files, applications and documents etc. Which will be saved on a server offsite by implementing a VPN in the system. The software needs to be able to do a bare metal restore and do incremental backups so that if I have worked on a word file and saved it, it would back up the changes and not the whole system again. Maybe I should run a MS pc or do I stick with Linux as a server?

I would just use the standard linux program dd to make a one time system compressed 'full metal' backup image.
Boot any linux livecd/liveusb and run command:
Code:
dd if=/dev/sda | gzip -c  > /mount/backupfolder/backup.img.gz

Then use any number of tools to do incremental backup. boxbackup is not actively developed anymore.

Bacula works well with windows clients