Linux compatibility on laptops

Kevin9542

Honorable
Dec 18, 2013
Im currently studying and im starting to do some programming relatively soon, since i only have a desktop i am in need of a laptop, i wasn't sure where to post this because this mixes both Linux and Laptop Tech subforums.

I have a few questions:

1- Whatever brand i use, whatever laptop i buy with whatever OS included, can i install Linux (OpenSuse) on it?
Called a tech but he wasn't very descriptive but he did say that samsung is not easy or possible to swap OS but needed to change a BIOS setting which comes to the question if all motherboards have this setting on the BIOS.

2- If im getting a linux laptop for programming will any celeron processor like the n2830 or 1037U be decent enough to run few programs like a browser, and a few other tools? Would it take too long to compile things?

I had one laptop in mind, but i heard hardware might also give compatibility issues, would this one work fine with opensuse?

Asus F551MAV-SX652B celeron n2830 processor, integrated graphics, 4gb ram, and more

Thanks for reading!
-Kevin

Solution
Most people will tell you to look into a used ThinkPad. (the x220 or t420 are popular). The dell Developer edition is good too, but expensive.

In general you want to pick a laptop with ALL intel componets. CPU, graphics, Wifi. Avoid broadcom and Realtek wifi chips. These will give you some installation headaches, whereas intel stuff just works.

The modern 'haswell' celerons are great. Reasonably good processor speed and great battery life for very cheap. You will be able to compile programs no problem but if you are compiling large programs like the Linux Kernel it may take quite a long time. Maybe you will want an i5 processor or similiar.
Most people will tell you to look into a used ThinkPad. (the x220 or t420 are popular). The dell Developer edition is good too, but expensive.