Question Little Piece of I/O shield got into USB port

fegefeuer

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2011
Hi,

This is about the ASUS Prime x470 Pro Motherboard.

I've never done this much hardware building before. I upgraded MoBo, PSU, Ram, CPU, GPU, removed stock CPU cooler brackets, installed Noctua CPU bracket kit and cooler, updated most power and data cables inside the case.
This was pretty daunting, as I'm not too experienced with hardware, so it took me a full (and I mean full) day of work. I was proud when - late at night - I posted the system for the first time and it did so without issue, everything seemed to be fine. Installed Windows 10 and started to set everything up.

Then I wanted to update the BIOS today and tried to find an empty USB port at the motherboard I/O.
Then I realized there's a little metal piece coming from the I/O shield in one of the rear USB ports. I realized/googled it's a little thing that's supposed to press on the I/O components from the "outside", kinda holding it into place / aligning it in addition to the MoBo screws.

qNnDxJW.jpg

I then remembered noticing this thing when I installed the I/O shield, but I thought it must be okay to be there and that it must be kind-of "plug-and-play" if it's there.
In my mind, if I were the manufacturer, I'd only put it there if "nothing" can go wrong when installing it (if done so reasonably).
Oh, and this is all based on that there was no mention of this in the MoBo manual - I looked up the section again today and alas, it only says "insert the MoBo and make sure it's rear ports align to the chassis' rear I/O panel'.
I really wish it would have had one sentence saying "make sure the I/O extra thingy-that-stands-out does not end up in the USB port", and I would have known to look out for this issue.
I've also never seen such a little thing on an I/O shield before.