Live stream from a digital camera to a PC without recording

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn_Jones

Prominent
Jun 2, 2017
I have two digital cameras. A Canon Ixus 285 HS and a FinePix f10. I want to use one of my digital cameras to demonstrate beadwork to a small group of people so need to get up very close, directly to my large all-in-one PC. I don't need to record anything. I also have an EasyCap device and a tripod which I want to mount my camera on. Unfortunately I am not very technical and have not been able to work out how to achieve this. I don't want to spend loads of money on this as we are a not for profit group. Can anyone help... PLEASE?

Does your all-in-one computer have an HDMI in port? If yes you may be able to connect an HDMI cable to the camera and monitor. That is if I understand you correctly and the people are getting close to your monitor for viewing. If you have the HDMI in port then you would need to switch the video input to that HDMI input port (similar to the way you would on a TV). This would be an inexpensive way to do it. If you have the HDMI cable it would cost you nothing money wise to attempt it.

Failed to mention that I was referring to the Canon since it has HDMI out port.

Marilyn_Jones

Prominent
Jun 2, 2017
I have had a good look on my Packard Bell OneTwo L5710, and unfortunately cannot see any HDMI port. Yes the Canon camera does have an HDMI port, although is WiFi. Is there anything else I can do?

What plugs do you have on the EasyCap? I'm assuming the RCA plugs (round and usually Red, White, and Yellow). If that is the case then you could try using the A/V cable with the Canon and connecting it that way. Did the EasyCap come with any video capture software? If yes, you might be able to do you want using the capture software. You don't have to capture video with the software as you can view through the application.