Question Local area networking no valid IP address

Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
I've been into this problem for a week now. I need someone who can walk me through this.

Let me start how things went bad with my PC connection.

It was rainy night, a sudden lightning strike happens near our house. All lights went off in our house and in all our neighborhood as well. Then light went back. Now, my PC can no longer connect to the internet. I called my ISP they do troubleshooting, didn't end well. They said it has nothing to do in their end since my router is fine and I can use my wifi as well. We tried connecting a laptop to my router, it goes smooth and well connected. But my PC is not! It's windows 7 OS

I tried all tricks and turns that I've read on google search on how to solve my connection like, disabling the power management on network page, disabling the green ethernet etc. I also tried ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew nothing works But, the catch is that sometimes I can connect to the internet by following those steps but in fews minutes my connection went gone. I'm so frustrated right now doing all the same stuffs I've read online on how to connect IP addresses.

As I've observed on my PC. Whenever I plugged out the ethernet cable the ethernet port on my PC still blinking! Without cable in it.

Please somebody help. I really need to get online since I'm working online.

Thanks

Love from Philippines
 
Last edited:

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
On your PC run "ipconfig /all" and post the results.

Are you currently using the motherboard's wired network adapter?

Do you have access to another wired network adapter; either USB or PCIe to test?

My thought is that the existing network adapter was damaged in some manner. May work until it gets warmed up and then some affected adapter component fails.
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
On your PC run "ipconfig /all" and post the results.

Are you currently using the motherboard's wired network adapter?

Do you have access to another wired network adapter; either USB or PCIe to test?

My thought is that the existing network adapter was damaged in some manner. May work until it gets warmed up and then some affected adapter component fails.
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
Hi there. Thanks for reaching out. Here' the result after ipconfig /all. Sorry can't upload screenshot so I type everything.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : home-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-D4-35-A1-6D-75
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes3
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f8f4:99d7:e7af:7294%13(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.114.148(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 326423605
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1B-A2-D9-81-94-DE-80-72-CE-EB

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{A3372491-DEEB-45EA-9385-63C53D13DE39}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Windows\system32>


Yes I'm currently using the motherboard. Few hours ago I had internet connection back but only for an hour. After an hour it goes back to unidenfied network.

Yes I tried other laptops to connect on my modem they work smoothly. The only thing that can't connect was my PC.

Looking forward to your replies. Thanks
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
I also wondering whenever I plugged out my ethernet cable out of the port, the green light was still on.

And I tried my computer to get connection from my friends house whose had good network. But still got nothing. =(
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
It appears that the existing motherboard's network adapter in not correctly configured. Whether that is due to some configuration error or physical damage is not clear.

First try using the built in Windows troubleshooters to find and fix the problem.

"WIN" + "I" Network & Internet > Status screen - many options thereafter

Failing that then use a working computer (on the network and connected through the router with internet access) to run "ipconfig /all" on that working computer.

The "ipconfig /all" results should tell you what Default gateway IP address to use.

Manually reconfigure the network adapter accordingly (DHCP - not Static) and be sure to save the configuration settings.

Here is a link that should help:

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-regain-internet-access-after-installing-update-windows-10

You can easily google for and find other similar links.

There is no need to make any immediate changes at first. Just "walk through" the process to both familiarize yourself with the windows, tabs, and properties along with the current settings. If something is unclear or confusing then CANCEL is your friend. Just start over.

= = = =

Also, when in DOS/Command Prompt, you should be able to use Copy (CTRL + C) to copy the complete results of "ipconfig /all" or other resulting text.

Once copied, then paste to your thread using CTRL + V to paste. May lose some formatting but that is not likely to be a problem in itself.
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
Hi there, thank you again for updating.

Yes, I tried the windows troubleshooter. Sometimes I get lucky that my internet connection goes online but only for a few minutes, the longest was about an hour then goes off again. But most of the time when trying to run windows troubleshooter, no luck.
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
I got lucky this around connection goes online. After I disabled the network and enable it again. But with few changes I've made with the settings. Here:

In Local Area Connection Properties - Configure button

In Advance page

Energy-Efficient Ethernet - Disable
Green Ethernet - Disable
Wake on Magic Packet - Disable
Wake on pattern match - Disable

In Power Management page
I unchecked all the boxes 'allow the computer to turn off this device to save power' and 'allow this device to wake the computer'

And I also run the ipconfig /all (as you stated earlier)
This result was given after I was lucky enough to get my connection back (but don't know how long will this last)

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : home-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-00-23-FE-86-30
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:4455:458:2200:55ee:66d3:c030:85b5(Pr
eferred)
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2001:4455:458:2200:78b3:2308:1ca9:1024(Pr
eferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::55ee:66d3:c030:85b5%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 16, 2021 12:22:53 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, November 17, 2021 12:22:53 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::1000%13
192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 326423605
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1B-A2-D9-81-94-DE-80-72-CE-EB

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:4450:f0🅰:c53
2001:4450:f0:f::c53
192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{A3372491-DEEB-45EA-9385-63C53D13DE39}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
I also tried to run a ping on the given IP address to check. Here's the result

Pinging 192.168.1.6 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.6:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 <0% loss>,
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
Per "ipconfig /all" the router has provided the computer with the DHCP IP address of 192.168.1.6

The ping to 192.168.1.6 was the computer pinging itself.

Try changing the DNS Server

Reference:

https://www.alphr.com/how-to-change-the-dns-server-in-windows-10/

Again there are other similar links to help with understanding what needs to be done. (Note: I use Google 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 as do many others. Good starting point.)

It appears that IPv6 is still enabled. Does your ISP provide IPv6? If not, disable IPv6. If IPv6 is available, disable for the time being and leave off until your network connectivity becomes steady and reliable.

Also the router's log (if available and enabled) may prove helpful. Who has full admin access to the router? You will need help from that person.

Note: Also noted that the IP address lease time is only 24 hours. Not a problem per se but it may prove helpful to increase the lease time to 7 days or so.
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
Hello again, last night I had a very connection back. But this morning I opened my computer internet went dark again.
Yes, I tried following your advice on changing the DNS still no avail.
Yes, my ISP provided and IPv6 I'll try to turn it off
And also yes, I have the full access to my routers main configuration. I haven't touched anything in there yet.
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
If connectivity does sometime work (i.e.,you have internet) then I would not expect a configuration problem per se.

An intermittent connection suggests a loose wire somewhere.

Could be a plug, an outlet, bad wire itself.

= = = =

Make and model router?

Look in the router's logs for entries that occurred when connectivity was lost or restored.
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
Good day sir, thank you for staying helping me out with my troubles.

Yes! Connection sometimes works for about an hour or two, the shorter was about a minute. I tried changing 4 RJ45 ethernet cable but still the same. =(

The router I had in here was a part of my subscription on my ISP.

GPON ONU
MODEL : HG6245D

I don't know where to find the router log. I tried to access the routers configuration found none of the logs.

I guess I'm totally screwed =(
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
I'd like to know as well if is this normal that whenever I plugged out the etherner cable, the ethernet port is still on green and the orange was blinking
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
Yes, it's from the motherboard ethernet port

Yes sir, I tried to plugged out the ethernet cable but lights are still blinking.
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
The make and model of my motherboard

AMD A10-5800K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics (4 CPUs)

The ethernet port was a built-in on the motherboard
Realtek PCIe GbE Family Controller
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
@Ralston18 I upload a video on youtube on the very thing I was so curious about. Please take a look.

Here's the link

https://youtube.com/shorts/esxocIPQmNg?feature=share

In that video the ethernet cable is connected to the ethernet port.

https://youtube.com/shorts/lgBTZ0ygP-I?feature=share

Above link was a video that I tried to unplugged the ethernet cable but the ethernet port light 'green' was still on and in a few seconds the 'orange' led may blink.

I'd like to know if my ethernet port was grounded? Or something problem to the hardware.
 

Ralston18

Titan
Moderator
FYI (Generic link):

https://techwithtech.com/ethernet-light-blinking-orange-green/

The starting step is to determine what the LEDs actually mean per the motherboard's User Guide/Manual.

However with the LEDs doing the same steady (green) and blinking (orange) pattern independent of the cable being plugged in or not plugged is an indication of a problem Ethernet adapter. Overall, the adapter port may be damaged and there is some sort of short therein. Inspect the port for signs of damage.

= = = =

Disable the motherboard's built in Ethernet adapter.

Then try another known working Ethernet adapter either PCIe or USB.

= = = =

Note: please confirm motherboard model: I attempted to find the applicable User Guide/Manual but did not find any links other that a couple of sketchy ones that I did not click to access.

Hopefully anyone else following this thread will be able to offer other ideas and suggestions.
 

ex_bubblehead

Champion
Moderator
A lightning strike nearby, lights went out, etc... Your ethernet port was damaged by the strike. It's not repairable. Your only 2 options are to either replace the motherboard or purchase a network card and disable the onboard port in BIOS.
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
@Ralston18 thank you for staying and answering my queries.

The model of the board is Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-HD2

I borrowed from my friend a working USB type Ethernet port to try and test it on my computer. I noticed that the ethernet lights were on good status whoever one things is the problem the computer could not detect any USB ethernet port plugged in. By the way I'm not using laptop.
 
Nov 15, 2021
17
0
10
0
Which means absolutely nothing. Lightning is entirely random.


@ex_bubblehead but sometimes I can connect back to the internet for about an hour until I get asleep. But in the morning the connect dark again so I had to reconfigure the steps I made last night just to hook back in the internet. Its just seldom when I get lucky to connect.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS