Question Location for install

oakmeal

Commendable
Jul 16, 2019
So i got one HDD and one SSD(nvme m.2) My SSD is running windows and my HDD is just a extra storage. and steam says "choose location for install" now does this mean if i install it into my hdd does it still run off the SSD? or because it's installed into the HDD it will run on the HDD. Im still new at this stuff and just wondering and looking this up is weird. so maybe i can get a solid answer here if possible .

ZuRriX

Reputable
Jul 14, 2019
if i install it into my hdd does it still run off the SSD?

No, you have to install it to the drive you want the program to run off of. Basically, if you want Steam to open fast, you install it on your SSD. If you want a game to open fast, you install it on your SSD.

If you install Steam as well as your games on a HDD, it will open it from that storage space (in this case the slower HDD), so you will wait a bit longer than if you were to install it on the SSD.

So, you want it to open fast - install it on the SSD.

Hope it helps. If it did, mark it as an answer. Cheers.

USAFRet

Titan
You want the Steam client on the SSD where your OS is.
Steam games, however, can be on either or both drives.

Steam games location
In the steam client:
Steam
Settings
Downloads
Steam Library Folders
Add library folder
q24sFfe.png

oakmeal

Commendable
Jul 16, 2019
You want the Steam client on the SSD where your OS is.
Steam games, however, can be on either or both drives.

Steam games location
In the steam client:
Steam
Settings
Downloads
Steam Library Folders
Add library folder
q24sFfe.png
So as long as my SSD has the steam client and OS it doenst matter where i install it? because it's still gonna run on the SSD?

USAFRet

Titan
So as long as my SSD has the steam client and OS it doenst matter where i install it? because it's still gonna run on the SSD?
No.
Games that live on the HDD will still load at HDD speed.