[SOLVED] Looking for a DSLR Camera in the range of 700-1000$? Mainly For photography but also good enough to take occasional videos.

fiftyseven57

Honorable
Dec 24, 2016
Just like the title suggested. I am looking for either Canon or Nikon or any other. Since I have no previous experience with DSLRs.
My Budget is between 700-1000$.
Photography Main Purpose
Videography Secondary Purpose.

Solution
For video focus, I like Canon's dual pixel cmos sensor. It tracks subjects better than Sony or Nikon for videos. You have to be really careful buying Nikon for videos, many of their cheaper cameras only use contrast detection which is aweful for tracking subjects. Sony mirrorless all use pdaf pixels and do a decent job for video focus, but only their higher end cameras do an exceptional job.

Canon has the EOS RP which is a mirrorless FULL FRAME camera. To use canon's older EF/EF-S lenses, you have to use an adapter which is another $100, but you can buy a nifty fifty used for like $50. That's puts you at $1150 which is over your budget, however the benefits of full frame in photography are worth it. You get much better low...

kanewolf

Titan

kanewolf

Titan
Thank you. I will take a look. What is the main factor that makes a camera good?
Difficult question. It might be position of the controls. It might be size, if you have large or small hands. It might be comparison of the image quality. There is no one-thing that makes a camera good. I personally would never buy a specific model without holding it first.

For video focus, I like Canon's dual pixel cmos sensor. It tracks subjects better than Sony or Nikon for videos. You have to be really careful buying Nikon for videos, many of their cheaper cameras only use contrast detection which is aweful for tracking subjects. Sony mirrorless all use pdaf pixels and do a decent job for video focus, but only their higher end cameras do an exceptional job.