[SOLVED] Looking for a guide in overclocking Ryzen 5 1600

khangnt2005

Reputable
Aug 2, 2018
My CPU: Ryzen 5 1600
My mobo: Asrock B450m Pro4f
Ram: 16gb 2400mhz
Psu: 600w

I'm new to ryzen, can anyone guide me how to overclock my ryzen 5 1600 for better performance?
Thanks

Solution
I have a 1500x here's what I did.
use ryzen master and slowly creep up the frequency. I used cinebench to test each step.
increase freq a bit, run cinebench, record results. when it reboots, and it will reboot. then you creep up the voltage a bit in ryzen master and repeat the process again.
creep the freq, test with cinebench, creep up again and again until reboot and then the voltage and repeat.
took me about 20 tests to find the sweet spot which is where you can push it no more and the voltage is below 1.35 (voltage AMD says is unsafe for daily use).
my settings were 4.0G at 1.35V ( I tested to 1.4V and still no more speed) I could get no more speed despite higher voltage and proper cooling. so I started dropping the voltage until...

R_1

Expert
Ambassador
use ryzen master and slowly creep up the frequency. I used cinebench to test each step.
increase freq a bit, run cinebench, record results. when it reboots, and it will reboot. then you creep up the voltage a bit in ryzen master and repeat the process again.
creep the freq, test with cinebench, creep up again and again until reboot and then the voltage and repeat.
took me about 20 tests to find the sweet spot which is where you can push it no more and the voltage is below 1.35 (voltage AMD says is unsafe for daily use).
my settings were 4.0G at 1.35V ( I tested to 1.4V and still no more speed) I could get no more speed despite higher voltage and proper cooling. so I started dropping the voltage until the system was unstable, then that's where I stopped at 1.3375V.