Question Looking for a laptop for writing / light gaming

Aug 27, 2022
Hello, I'm looking for laptop recommendations. I'll mainly use it for writing as I'm a journalist, so a good keyboard would be a very nice touch. I also like gaming occasionally, however I don't play triple A games or games that need high specs in general!

1. What is your budget?
400€ => 800€

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
Doesn't really matter, 14/15 inches would be fine!

3. What screen resolution do you want?
Doesn't matter

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
Portable.

5. How much battery life do you need?
Anything above 5h is fine.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
Yes, but only indie games with overall low settings (Don't Starve, Hollow Knight, Celeste...), with the occasional Hearthstone.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)

Mainly writing on Google Docs, with several Chrome tabs open for research on the side. Some gaming, as listed above. Watching TV Series in my bed as well :p

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?
Anything decent, I mostly use Cloud storage or external storage anyway.

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.
Not really

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop?
More than 5 years if possible.

11. What kind of Optical drive do you need? DVD ROM/Writer,Bluray ROM/Writer,Etc ?
None.

12. Please tell us about the brands that you prefer to buy from them and the brands that you don't like and explain the reasons.
+ : ASUS, because my last laptop was an ASUS and held really nicely for 10 years.
---- : Apple, I've always had Windows and I'm not really willing to get used to Mac.

13. What country do you live in?
France.

14. Please tell us any additional information if needed.