HDBlueDragon

Commendable
Apr 28, 2016
Hey guys, I just bought a new Dell Precision T3500, specs are as follows :
Intel Xeon W3550 3.06 GHZ
8 GB DDR3 RAM
1 TB HDD
525 watt PSU
Which GPU should I get for it, a GTX 950, or wait for the new Radeon RX480, the question is, will the RX480 will fit in my PC without PSU problems, Im new to PCs.

Solution
RX 480 is getting a fix for that issue. So that won't be a problem. And by the way, don't listen to william p's talk about VESA 103. BIOS can adjust itself to fit your screen.

Casey Jones

Reputable
May 6, 2015
480 is advertised to be 200USD in the US, so I'm assuming it will be considerably more expensive where you're from considering the 950 can be bought for 140USD in the US. If 200 is your budget then you've already answered your own question, go with the 950.

I'm working on a dell T3400. Yours is newer so some of this may or may not apply to you. I think you should have 2-+PCIe 6 pin power connectors on your PSU. Many mid range GPUs run a single 8 pin connector but come with an adapter cable to run 2-6pin to single 8 pin. An issue that's common with older Dells and newer ATI GPUs is BIOS video mode "VESA 103". The R9 cards don't support this so you can't enter your BIOS Setup screen. (the R9- 270-280 might support it since they're HD7xxx re-badged, not sure yet, R9-285 definitely NOT). Newer Crossfire cards don't have a bridge cable. PCIe 3.0 has enough bandwidth it's not needed. PCIe 2.0 should have the bridge but some people report success without it. Something to consider if you want to Crossfire in the future. Single NVidia GPU up to 8 pin power connector should be a good choice. If you're sure you don't need VESA 103 the similar R9 should work. If you go Nvidia I don't think you have native SLI support so 2 GPUs would be hard to add later.

I think stepping up to the 960 would be worthwhile. The 950 is a clipped 960 anyway.

HDBlueDragon

Commendable
Apr 28, 2016

Thank you very much :)

HDBlueDragon