Looking for an upgrade, but confused about power supply...

TheOne0

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2010
Hello all,

I want to upgrade my computer in order to run FFXIV well, but I really want to hold off on building a rig since I am still learning all the basics on building a computer. So I have a few questions that would be awesome if i could get a little bit of help with...

I'm looking to upgrade from a ATI Radeon 4650 to a 5770, but I'm a little confused on switching over power supplies. Currently I'm running a stock 300w power supply that came with the HP pre built, but from what it sounds like i would have to upgrade the power supply with the graphics card in order for all to go well.

Here are the specs for the game i want to run: http://www.ffxivcore.com/wiki/System_Requirements

Now, it says I should be able to run it just fine as long as I keep the graphics up a notch, at least to a 5770.

I have a Pentium (R) Dual Core E5200 @ 2.50ghz , running 4gb of ram, my motherboard chipset is a NVidia GeForce 7100 w/ the southbridge being a nForce 630i. I would post the screenie of my CPU-Z but currently my photobucket is kind of screwed up. Now for the million dollar question: What kind of power supply would i have to change to in order to get this 5770 to work, and would i need anything else to make it compatible with my current machine setup? Sorry if this is a newbie question or if its lurking the FAQ somewhere, I thought it would best just to ask directly and see what i come up with. Many thanks for yalls time!

Here's the problem. A 5770 needs about 5 amps more than your old card. Depending on the capacity of the 12 volt, your present PSU might work. A good 350 - 400 watt PSU would certainly work.

But you say you eventually want to build a computer. In that case, if you want to use your new PSU, you should size it for the new computer. My favorite mid-range PSU is the Corsair 550VX:
Corsair 550VX (41 amp 12 volt rail)