[SOLVED] Looking for some help regarding upgrading an older PC.

TJ.

Jan 15, 2021
So I am fairly new to this, however with the help of a friend and some research I had a planned to upgrade my current business model HP 8300 elite sff.

It currently has intel i5 3470, 8gb ram, no/integrated gpu and a proprietary 240w psu.

My original plan was to buy a used gpu that would be able to run fairly recent games with moderate settings and add 8gb ram.

After having issues finding a gpu that would then fit in my sff case the options I was first pointed to are the; gtx 1050 ti or the gtx 1060 mini as these would possibly offer what I'm looking for, while fitting in my case and be simple for someone like me to connect via PCIex16.

Due to the power limitations and small case I was wondering whether it was worth it. I really need some advice on what to do next as getting a better gpu would likely mean getting a larger case and psu. I then run into issues because if I was to to this you cannot replace the proprietary 240w HP psu because it wont connect to my motherboard. I've seen a fix for this involving buying a ATX 24-Pin to 6-Pin PCI-E PSU Power Adapter however I would have to repin some wires myself as shown in these examples, which I worry of messing up.

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xeuPjgIcsY8

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/hp-8300-complete-overhaul-psu-and-gpu-upgrades.274842/

I have seen people successfully run a gtx 1050ti small profile in my same model with good results. I guess I am asking what the chances are of my HP 240v being able to run this gpu or any others and will it wield good results? Or if I should just buy a better psu, work out how to replace my one with the adapter, and look for a larger case and better gpu while I'm at it.

Sorry if this question is a bit convoluted, this is my first time posting and working with these sorts of issues.

Thanks for reading any and all guidance will be much appreciates. Have a nice day.

Solution