Looking for the Best and Cheapest PC option for Audio Production

ADef95

Prominent
Jun 10, 2017
Hi all,

I'm a Canadian music producer looking for the best and cheapest PC option to be able to support my hobby. It's also important to note that I'm a student... so my budget is tight. I need the PC to be able to run VST plugins such as Omnisphere 2 and provide enough hard drive space to store VST sound libraries as well as sound kits.

Also, if possible, I'd like it to be able to run CAD software as I'm an engineering student.

I'm open to all suggestions and advice, from building a PC to buying a refurbished laptop, but a cheap, prebuilt setup is ideal for me.

Note: I already have a Scarlett 2i2 Audio interface so the internal sound card doesn't have to be amazing

Thanks in advance!

Solution

ADef95,

How about: HP Z420 Workstation | 3.60GHz Xeon Quad Core E5-1620 | 16gb DDR3 | DVD-RW > Sold for $C $268.60

Try to find one with 16GB which is the bare entry level for CPU rendering. To this, add a used Quadro z620 2GB ,a 240-256GB SSD if possible for the OS.Program drive, and a 2TB HD- HGST are the most reliable.

I have two HP z420's and these are made for long, reliable running and are very quiet. One has a Xeon E5-1620 and other is E5-1660 v2 (6-core @ 3.7/4.0) and both of these systems are used for architectural, industrial design, and graphic design, using AutoCad, Revit, 3Ds, Adobe CS6, Sketchup, Solidworks, Corel Technical designer, and etc. The 4-core is surprisingly fast in VRay CPU rendering , but a 6 or 8 core would be preferable. You might find a z420 with an E5-2690 ( 8-core @ 2.9/3.8GHz). The 3.8 Turbo speed still makes the 3D modeling quite good. Those cost US $2,050 new but today are about $200. We have an HP z620 with a pair of E5-2690's for rendering. In the last 4 years these systems have had 100% reliability- not one failed component or any data loss.