Looking for upgrade advice on an old gaming PC

jeff2231

Reputable
May 18, 2015
Hi everyone!

Firstly I'd like to apologize for repeating this topic, but after scouring over information I find on the net I'm more bewildered than when I started...

I have no knowledge on PC hardware despite trying to understand it, but what I do see quite often is that GPU upgrades generally get the best bang for your buck, providing it's not bottlenecked by your CPU or PSU, and I need to make sure that the new GPU is compatible with my Motherboard... and this is where I've become lost!

If anybody is able to help out I'd greatly appreciate it.

I'm looking at this card http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php...=30668&zenid=043dd468b84925696d8fc9fedffa78c7 and was wondering if it would be suitable for the setup below as an upgrade.

CPU: Intel Core i7 920
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL8T-6GBRM
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
GPU: 2x Powercolor Radeon HD5770 1GB
DVD-RW: Pioneer DVR-218L
Case: Silverstone Raven RV02
Heatsink: Thermalright TRUE Black 120 Rev. C
Fan: Scythe Ultra Kaze 120mm Fan 2000rpm
PSU: ThermalTake Toughpower Qfan 650W
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB WD1001FALS

By the way, I'm happy to wait on load times, it's more in game performance that I'm looking for.

Thanks guys and girls!

Jeff

superflypc

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2012
An SSD is cheap (£50-60 for 240GB) and if you install your OS and games on there you'll get a very fast boot, and your games will load quickly. Personally, if I'm going to spend a couple of hundred on improving my graphics performance, I'd get an SSD at that price too, just makes things more smooth imo.

Agree with Matt, we'd need to know a budget.

A graphics card will no doubt improve your in game performance, allow you to run on higher graphics settings with extra effects. You don't need to worry about being bottlenecked by your CPU when you have an i7.