Looking to buy an Asus Essentio cm6850-07 and upgrade the Graphics card and the

d1gg3r101

Distinguished
Oct 11, 2011
Hello, Since I'm not really good with computers and I've never actually owned a particularly good computer, I need some help.

I finally saved up enough money to purchase an Asus Essentio CM6850-07. I've read pretty much every review I could find on it and found that it doesn't perform too well in the graphics department.

So I was wondering, (and mind, I'm not great with computers so this may be a stupid question) if I was looking to upgrade the graphics card and PSU in this, what would give me the most bang for my buck?

Price Range: ~150 for the gfx card. Whatever for the PSU.

I'm looking into some moderate gaming, like diablo 3 and whatever else I stumble upon that looks nice, and I'd like to run them with nice (if not max) settings.

P.S. I heard that this motherboard doesn't support SLI but does support crossfire. So I'd like a card that I can keep up with the games now, and in a few yrs get ANOTHER so I can use crossfire to keep up with the games and whatnot.

And if you'd be willing to explain why you're suggesting certain parts I'd really appreciate it, because I'd like to learn.

Thanks in advance!

Solution
In my opinion, that machine is pricey without providing much useful. I'll see what I can find...

As far as graphics cards. NVidia GeForce and AMD Radeon are just the competing brands. Is a BMW better than a Mercedes? Maybe, some of the time, but it depends on what you want. Here's a comparison of where their cards rank: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-performance-radeon-geforce,2997-7.html

You'll be wanting either a GeForce 400 or 500 series card or a Radeon 5000 or 6000 series card. Don't get anything worse than the GTX 460 1GB/6850 level.

d1gg3r101

Distinguished
Oct 11, 2011
Not sure if it helps but, so far, it's all I can find.