Low-End Graphics card (GT 705) with sudden lag spikes in low-demand games: sudden click noise. Advice appreciated

Jul 19, 2018
Hello, I am new to this forum so I'd like to preface this message by saying I'm sorry for any glaring errors- I am not a tech expert by any means.

Now to start with the issue, I have recently gotten into playing a few games (Heroes of the Storm most notably) in my spare time. These games, from what I have heard, are not too graphically demanding. In 2017, I could play the game with 60+ FPS on medium setting. I am not too sure why but recently (2018) I have had to cap the frame rate of the game at 30 FPS and lower all settings down to low to prevent the GPU from overheating. Also, during this period, my GPU was reaching 95C. I cleaned the case out with compressed air but to no avail. Therefore, i had to 'underclock' the GPU to half its intended clock speed in MSI Afterburner to stop any potential thermal throttling. The temperatures now run at 68C in game, which I am fine with, but the issue now is the stuttering and hope to get some answers to.

My PC is a Dell prebuild and isn't the best in the world but its specs are:

• I5-4460
    8 GB RAM
    GT 705 GPU
    Seagate Desktop 1 TB Internal HDD
    310W PSU

With these specs in mind, the issue I am currently having is that the game will run smoothly until the graphics card makes an audible 'click' sound and then there is a sudden drop in FPS to 0 and back up to 30. The click does not always have to happen for a lag to occur but the click only occurs when the game lags (if that makes any sense??).
http://
As attached on the image, where the FB and GPU usage drops are is where the game stutters (and the GPU sometimes clicks). I do acknowledge that my GPU usage is really high and would have caused card degradation over the past year.