Question Low FPS and low CPU/GPU usage with new RTX 3060

Jul 2, 2023
So today I replaced my GTX 1660 with an RTX 3060. Everything went smooth - I uninstalled all the previous drivers and reinstalled etc. I go to check what kind of frames I'm getting on a Minecraft singleplayer world with shaders enabled and I'm only getting like 20 fps in some parts of the world. This is about the same as the 1660. I was looking at the Nvidia performance overlay while playing and my GPU and CPU usages are both very low (20-50%). I'm not sure if I just over anticipated how much of a difference a new GPU would make with this game or if there's an actual performance issue.

I also recently replaced the PSU and it does seem to be occasionally making a slight humming noise that I don't think it was making with the old GPU. Just replaced the VGA cable and its still making the sound and having these issues.

If any additional info is needed let me know. This is my first time posting on any kind of forum and I'm not really sure what the expectations are haha :sweatsmile:

Specs:
  • CPU - i7 10700F @ 2.90GHz
  • GPU - RTX 3060
  • RAM - 2x 8Gb @ 2400MHz
  • PSU - EVGA Super Nova 750 G5 80 Plus Gold 750 watt
  • Mobo - B460M Pro-VDH WiFi Micro ATX
  • 2TB HDD 256GB SSD
Sorry I know there's a lot going on in this image... hopefully its somewhat legible.
TBBvd90.jpg

Last edited:

Lutfij

Titan
Welcome to the forums, newcomer!

Did you run DDU to remove your older GPU drivers prior to removing the GTX1660? Once you dropped in the RTX3060, you're advised to manually install the latest GPU drivers sourced off of Nvidia's support site.

Jul 2, 2023
Initially I uninstalled the 1660 drivers without DDU and manually installed the new drivers from Nvidia's website. When I noticed issues I downloaded DDU and uninstalled with that and reinstalled the new drivers again with a fresh installer off the website.

th3reaperskullpt

Prominent
Dec 27, 2022