Question Low frame-rate when connecting camcorder to PC.

Dave Thompson

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2014
Hi

I have an old HD camcorder, but it still gives me excellent video (Sony HDR-XR500VE). I wanted to hook it up to my computer for some real-time green-screen experiments, but any software I use is showing low frame-rate, frame-drops, and also occasional tearing. The card I bought was "SOOMFON HDMI Camera Capture Card 4K30fps Input, USB3.0 Type C Capture 4K30fps,1080P60fps".

The camcorder is 1080i which seems to give me 50fps, and when it's plugged into the TV via HDMI, the picture quality and frame-rate is superb
. However, when going through the capture card to PC, the quality is far less, and the frame-rate looks halved. I am new to this, and bought the capture device based on it's ability to capture 1080p at 60fps.

I have used OBS studio, but even Sony Vegas capture tool shows a poor framerate.

What does it take to get the same quality picture through a video capture device to USB, as I get from a direct HDMI to TV? What am I doing wrong? This is only for live use, no streaming or recording.

Thanks for any advice.

Oh, I have an Intel i7 and Radeon RX 580.

4745454b

Titan

A random link I found. Explaining the issue between i and p.

1080i at 50 fields per second: Imagine that you are shooting 50 pictures per second but storing only half of the bitmaps every time – sometimes you store the odd lines and sometimes the even lines...Every field is a half of a full picture from the given instant. Every pixel in that field was captured at the same time...interlaced video at 50 Hz does not mean that 25 full pictures per second are shown. It means that 50 halves of pictures are shown but those are halves of 50 different pictures that were shot at 50 distinct moments of time in every second. You not only don’t have 50 full pictures per second – you don’t have any full pictures at all.