low speed ddr4 8700k vs 6800k

Toxic_Cobra

Honorable
Jan 9, 2016
Hi,
I have a i7-6800k with a msi gaming pro carbon motherboard. A while ago, I plugged a rgb strip into the j_LED header that was made for a different kind of strip, and it burned the motherboard LEDs. I've been using the board for a few months and for the most part it's fine, besides all the LEDs not working and the occasional restart. Right now I'm contemplating upgrading to coffee lake but I've hard it suffers from low speed ram. I have 2x4gb ddr4 2133 and 2x4gb ddr4 3000, obviously I can't run two sticks at a higher speed then the other two so I keep them all at 2133, and obviously nows not the time to buy ram (I got my 16gb 2133 kit for $95 a year and a half ago, lol). If I upgrade to the 8700k, will it be better then my current 6800k even with the bottleneck of slow ram? I've just heard low speed ram impacts coffee lake much more. I read the bottleneck gets higher as you overclock the cpu, which I plan to do.

Solution
Does not sound right to me about needing faster ram.
Do you have a source on that assertion?

8700K should outclass the 6800k in every way regardless of ram speed.
Plus, it will overclock higher. likely 5 multipliers higher.

As a rule, more ram trumps faster ram unless you are running integrated graphics or a ram speed intensive app.

If you can get your 4 disparate sticks to work together, you are lucky.
I think I would sell both kits in favor of a single 2 x 8gb kit of say 3000 speed.
Does not sound right to me about needing faster ram.
Do you have a source on that assertion?

8700K should outclass the 6800k in every way regardless of ram speed.
Plus, it will overclock higher. likely 5 multipliers higher.

As a rule, more ram trumps faster ram unless you are running integrated graphics or a ram speed intensive app.

If you can get your 4 disparate sticks to work together, you are lucky.
I think I would sell both kits in favor of a single 2 x 8gb kit of say 3000 speed.

Solution