[LSJ]Pariah and Textbook Damnation

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

If I get Textbook Damnation on Pariah, does Pariah's infernal status
override his own restriction or do I have to pay both?


--
Comments Welcome,
Norman S. Brown, Jr
XZealot
Archon of the Swamp
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Colin McGuigan wrote:
> XZealot wrote:
> > If I get Textbook Damnation on Pariah, does Pariah's infernal
status
> > override his own restriction or do I have to pay both?
>
> Both. If you didn't pay the infernal penalty from Textbook
Damnation,
> Pariah would tap during untap. If you didn't discard a master card
> during your master phase, Pariah would tap then.

Almost right.

Quoting the (new) infernal rule: "Now, as of KMW, the infernal penalty
is paid to untap the infernal vampire (who now doesn't untap as
normal)."

So you only pay the infernal penalty if Pariah is tapped during your
untap phase, and then you determine if you want to discard a master
card or have him tap in the Master Phase as a separate issue.

And the Book burns in the Master Phase if you either didn't untap him
via the infernal rule, or if you don't discard to prevent him from
tapping via his own special.

> --Colin McGuigan

-John Flournoy
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

XZealot wrote:
> If I get Textbook Damnation on Pariah, does Pariah's infernal status
> override his own restriction or do I have to pay both?

Both. If you didn't pay the infernal penalty from Textbook Damnation,
Pariah would tap during untap. If you didn't discard a master card
during your master phase, Pariah would tap then.

--Colin McGuigan
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"John Flournoy" <carneggy@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:1113335514.587981.154850@l41g2000cwc.googlegroups.com...
>
> Colin McGuigan wrote:
> > XZealot wrote:
> > > If I get Textbook Damnation on Pariah, does Pariah's infernal
> status
> > > override his own restriction or do I have to pay both?
> >
> > Both. If you didn't pay the infernal penalty from Textbook
> Damnation,
> > Pariah would tap during untap. If you didn't discard a master card
> > during your master phase, Pariah would tap then.
>
> Almost right.
>
> Quoting the (new) infernal rule: "Now, as of KMW, the infernal penalty
> is paid to untap the infernal vampire (who now doesn't untap as
> normal)."
>
> So you only pay the infernal penalty if Pariah is tapped during your
> untap phase, and then you determine if you want to discard a master
> card or have him tap in the Master Phase as a separate issue.
>
> And the Book burns in the Master Phase if you either didn't untap him
> via the infernal rule, or if you don't discard to prevent him from
> tapping via his own special.


Correct.

If you had the Path of Evil Revelations in play, however, you could:

Leave him tapped in your untap phase (fail to pay a pool to untap
him, that is).

Tap him in your master phase (fail to discard a master card to
avoid his special penalty). This redundantly leaves him tapped.

Pay a pool to the Path to untap all of your infernal minions,
including Pariah.

And thereby avoid burning the Textbook (since he is untapped).

--
LSJ (vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (Remove spam trap to reply).
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu