[LSJ] Petaniqua advanced + werewolf allies

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Before I make a fool of myself with a Petaniqua and her Army of Werewolves
deck, I'd like to make sure it will work.

Petaniqua ADV
[...]
Advanced, Independent. Red List: Once each combat, Petaniqua may burn a
blood to gain a press. Petaniqua may recruit a werewolf ally as if she meets
the requirements of playing that card. +1 strength. Infernal.

Can she recruit werewolf allies as if she meets the requirements multiple
times? It reads as if it is a one time deal, but that doesn't make sense.

Rogar
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

LSJ wrote:
> Rogar wrote:
>
> > LSJ <vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com> wrote:
> >
> >>>It reads as if it is a one time deal, but that doesn't make sense.
> >>
> >> What make you think it reads as a one-time deal?
> >
> >
> > The bit where it reads 'may recruit *a* werewolf ally', singular.
Otherwise
> > I'd expect it to say 'may recruit werewolf allies'. Like with the
unadvanced
> > Petaniqua, which mentions 'Recruiting allies' as opposed to
'Recruiting an
> > ally'.
>
> Well, she'll only be recruiting one at any given time.
> See also "that card" in her card text.
> Using the plural there would be problematic.
>

It could have said something like "may recruit werewolf allies as
though she meets their requirements." But I don't think it's confusing
the way it is.

Normally if something is only allowed once, period, it is more explicit
(like "she can do this once per game"), or it tells you when she can do
it ("you may put a werewolf ally into play when Petaniqua comes into
play, as though it were recruited by her and as if she had recruited
it" OR "may recruit a werewolf ally as though she meets its
requirements, the turn after she comes into play from your uncontrolled
region."

The only time something is allowed only once, without explicit text, is
the "during X, do Y" phrase, and that has explicit text in the rulebook
which explains the rule.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Rogar wrote:

> Before I make a fool of myself with a Petaniqua and her Army of Werewolves
> deck, I'd like to make sure it will work.
>
> Petaniqua ADV
> [...]
> Advanced, Independent. Red List: Once each combat, Petaniqua may burn a
> blood to gain a press. Petaniqua may recruit a werewolf ally as if she meets
> the requirements of playing that card. +1 strength. Infernal.
>
> Can she recruit werewolf allies as if she meets the requirements multiple
> times?

Yes.

> It reads as if it is a one time deal, but that doesn't make sense.

What make you think it reads as a one-time deal?

--
LSJ (vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

LSJ <vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com> wrote:
> > It reads as if it is a one time deal, but that doesn't make sense.
>
> What make you think it reads as a one-time deal?

The bit where it reads 'may recruit *a* werewolf ally', singular. Otherwise
I'd expect it to say 'may recruit werewolf allies'. Like with the unadvanced
Petaniqua, which mentions 'Recruiting allies' as opposed to 'Recruiting an
ally'.

Still, I figured it was supposed to be multiple times; I just wanted to make
sure, and preempt annoying deck-invalidating inquiries from my fellow
players. Now hush, or they'll find out about my secret new tech! 😉

Rogar
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Rogar wrote:

> LSJ <vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com> wrote:
>
>>>It reads as if it is a one time deal, but that doesn't make sense.
>>
>> What make you think it reads as a one-time deal?
>
>
> The bit where it reads 'may recruit *a* werewolf ally', singular. Otherwise
> I'd expect it to say 'may recruit werewolf allies'. Like with the unadvanced
> Petaniqua, which mentions 'Recruiting allies' as opposed to 'Recruiting an
> ally'.

Well, she'll only be recruiting one at any given time.
See also "that card" in her card text.
Using the plural there would be problematic.

--
LSJ (vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/