G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Howdy,

I grepped about a bit, and didn't find anything relevant, so here's the
question:

A vampire equipped with The Textbook Damnation plays Concordance. Next
turn, the vampire doesn't bother to pay the Infernal penalty and so
burns the Textbook, losing DAI and the Infernal trait.

The vampire can still 'use' the Concordance card, right? I.e. the
'Requires an infernal vampire' line is just a requirement for playing
Concordance, not for using it?

(With careful use of Freak Drive, that's 1 pool and 1 'lost' untap for
Concordance... What a bargain!)

Thanks,
Alex

(Relevant text)

Textbook Damnation, The
The vampire with this equipment has superior Daimoinon [DAI] and is
infernal. Cards that require Daimoinon [dai] cost this vampire 2 less
blood to play. During your master phase, if this vampire is tapped,
burn this equipment.

Concordance
Requires an infernal vampire. Put this card on the acting vampire. This
vampire treats aggravated damage as normal damage and has +1 strength
and -1 stealth.
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"wumpus" <wumpus7@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:1112996165.089153.219510@l41g2000cwc.googlegroups.com...
> Howdy,
>
> I grepped about a bit, and didn't find anything relevant, so here's the
> question:
>
> A vampire equipped with The Textbook Damnation plays Concordance. Next
> turn, the vampire doesn't bother to pay the Infernal penalty and so
> burns the Textbook, losing DAI and the Infernal trait.
>
> The vampire can still 'use' the Concordance card, right? I.e. the
> 'Requires an infernal vampire' line is just a requirement for playing
> Concordance, not for using it?

IANLSJ but I believe the answer is yes. I believe the way you resolve
the issue is how the ability is written: "This vampire treats aggravated
damage as normal damage..." (and so on. Because the ability is written
using the reference to 'this vampire' as opposed to 'this INFERNAL
vampire' (or even more restrictive, 'this INFERNAL vampire POSSESSING
inferior Daimoinon'), the minion with Concordance played on it may
use the abilities as long as it's simply a vampire. An ally 'playing
Daimoinon cards as an infernal vampire', for instance, would not be
able to use ability once it had played the card on itself.

Fred, miserable but still game rules interpreter
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Your interpretation is fine. Also consider Valerius Maior, who can
play Concordance and then merge, retaining the Concordance but losing
the Infernal trait.

Eric Simon
Prince of Chicago
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Frederick Scott wrote:
> "wumpus" <wumpus7@comcast.net> wrote in message
>>A vampire equipped with The Textbook Damnation plays Concordance. Next
>>turn, the vampire doesn't bother to pay the Infernal penalty and so
>>burns the Textbook, losing DAI and the Infernal trait.
>>
>>The vampire can still 'use' the Concordance card, right? I.e. the
>>'Requires an infernal vampire' line is just a requirement for playing
>>Concordance, not for using it?
>
> IANLSJ but I believe the answer is yes. I believe the way you resolve
> the issue is how the ability is written: "This vampire treats aggravated
> damage as normal damage..." (and so on. Because the ability is written
> using the reference to 'this vampire' as opposed to 'this INFERNAL
> vampire' (or even more restrictive, 'this INFERNAL vampire POSSESSING
> inferior Daimoinon'), the minion with Concordance played on it may
> use the abilities as long as it's simply a vampire. An ally 'playing
> Daimoinon cards as an infernal vampire', for instance, would not be
> able to use ability once it had played the card on itself.

Correct.

--
LSJ (vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/