LSJ- Trophy and Ousting

  • Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Scott,
If I have Red Listed 3 of my prey's vampires and I oust my prey with a Bleed
(a D-action) which causes all 3 Red Listed minions to burn, do I get to go
through my library, hand or ashheap and get 3 trophies?


--
Comments Welcome,
Norman S. Brown, Jr.
XZealot
Archon of the Swamp
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

On Mon, 28 Mar 2005 20:42:34 -0600, "XZealot"
<x_zealot@cox-internet.com> scrawled:

>Scott,
>If I have Red Listed 3 of my prey's vampires and I oust my prey with a Bleed
>(a D-action) which causes all 3 Red Listed minions to burn, do I get to go
>through my library, hand or ashheap and get 3 trophies?

i'd guess 'no'.

the bleed ousts the methuselah.

the ousting burns the minions.

sort of one step too far down the chain of events to trigger the
trophies.

but i ain't no lsj.

salem
http://www.users.tpg.com.au/adsltqna/VtES/index.htm
(replace "hotmail" with "yahoo" to email)
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"salem" <salem_christ.geo@hotmail.com> escribió en el mensaje
news:jj4i41ldej4ln8ufv2j0381rc12v30jlja@4ax.com...
> On Mon, 28 Mar 2005 20:42:34 -0600, "XZealot"
> <x_zealot@cox-internet.com> scrawled:
>
> >Scott,
> >If I have Red Listed 3 of my prey's vampires and I oust my prey with a
Bleed
> >(a D-action) which causes all 3 Red Listed minions to burn, do I get to
go
> >through my library, hand or ashheap and get 3 trophies?
>
> i'd guess 'no'.
>
> the bleed ousts the methuselah.
>
> the ousting burns the minions.
>
> sort of one step too far down the chain of events to trigger the
> trophies.
>
> but i ain't no lsj.
>
> salem
> http://www.users.tpg.com.au/adsltqna/VtES/index.htm
> (replace "hotmail" with "yahoo" to email)

Looking at the precedent of Political Struggle (lasombra action card) this
does not look like a mad idea
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

salem wrote:
> On Mon, 28 Mar 2005 20:42:34 -0600, "XZealot"
>>Scott,
>>If I have Red Listed 3 of my prey's vampires and I oust my prey with a Bleed
>>(a D-action) which causes all 3 Red Listed minions to burn, do I get to go
>>through my library, hand or ashheap and get 3 trophies?
>
> i'd guess 'no'.
>
> the bleed ousts the methuselah.
>
> the ousting burns the minions.
>
> sort of one step too far down the chain of events to trigger the
> trophies.

Correct. It is not an action to burn a minion (or minions).
The action merely burns pool (and grabs the edge, possibly).

--
LSJ (vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Smiling Tom a écrit :
> "salem" <salem_christ.geo@hotmail.com> escribió en el mensaje
> news:jj4i41ldej4ln8ufv2j0381rc12v30jlja@4ax.com...
>
>>On Mon, 28 Mar 2005 20:42:34 -0600, "XZealot"
>><x_zealot@cox-internet.com> scrawled:
>>
>>
>>>Scott,
>>>If I have Red Listed 3 of my prey's vampires and I oust my prey with a
>
> Bleed
>
>>>(a D-action) which causes all 3 Red Listed minions to burn, do I get to
>
> go
>
>>>through my library, hand or ashheap and get 3 trophies?
>>
>>i'd guess 'no'.
>>
>>the bleed ousts the methuselah.
>>
>>the ousting burns the minions.
>>
>>sort of one step too far down the chain of events to trigger the
>>trophies.
>>
>>but i ain't no lsj.
>>
>>salem
>>http://www.users.tpg.com.au/adsltqna/VtES/index.htm
>>(replace "hotmail" with "yahoo" to email)
>
>
> Looking at the precedent of Political Struggle (lasombra action card) this
> does not look like a mad idea

Take a Malkav to know one, eh Tom ? 😉

[BTW, long time no seen, hope everything's fine with you.]

Orpheus
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"Orpheus" <orpheus.13@DEADfree.fr> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:4249314d$0$5373$626a14ce@news.free.fr...
> Smiling Tom a écrit :
> > "salem" <salem_christ.geo@hotmail.com> escribió en el mensaje
> > news:jj4i41ldej4ln8ufv2j0381rc12v30jlja@4ax.com...
> >
> >>On Mon, 28 Mar 2005 20:42:34 -0600, "XZealot"
> >><x_zealot@cox-internet.com> scrawled:
> >>
> >>
> >>>Scott,
> >>>If I have Red Listed 3 of my prey's vampires and I oust my prey with a
> >
> > Bleed
> >
> >>>(a D-action) which causes all 3 Red Listed minions to burn, do I get to
> >
> > go
> >
> >>>through my library, hand or ashheap and get 3 trophies?
> >>
> >>i'd guess 'no'.
> >>
> >>the bleed ousts the methuselah.
> >>
> >>the ousting burns the minions.
> >>
> >>sort of one step too far down the chain of events to trigger the
> >>trophies.
> >>
> >>but i ain't no lsj.
> >>
> >>salem
> >>http://www.users.tpg.com.au/adsltqna/VtES/index.htm
> >>(replace "hotmail" with "yahoo" to email)
> >
> >
> > Looking at the precedent of Political Struggle (lasombra action card)
this
> > does not look like a mad idea
>
> Take a Malkav to know one, eh Tom ? 😉
>
> [BTW, long time no seen, hope everything's fine with you.]
>
> Orpheus

I think he will get the trophies, same as with the path of death and soul.
See here.
http://groups.google.de/groups?hl=de&lr=&ie=UTF-8&threadm=3FCA3B51.9040900%4
0white-wolf.com&rnum=5&prev=/groups%3Fq%3Dauthor:lsj%2Bpath%2Bof%2Bdeath%2Ba
nd%2Bsoul%26hl%3Dde%26lr%3D%26ie%3DUTF-8%26group%3Drec.games.trading-cards.j
yhad%26scoring%3Dd%26selm%3D3FCA3B51.9040900%2540white-wolf.com%26rnum%3D5

-- Erol
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

> > Looking at the precedent of Political Struggle (lasombra action card)
this
> > does not look like a mad idea
>
> Take a Malkav to know one, eh Tom ? 😉
>
> [BTW, long time no seen, hope everything's fine with you.]
>
> Orpheus

Indeed. Even local players from Palma and Barcelona haven't seen me for a
pretty long period of time. I've got to return to Palma, to settle down
again there, and this has taken a lot of time, and money. To figure out,
damnans have a box of KMW which I ordered through him since it was
available, and I haven't managed to pick them up yet.

I expect to get back sooner than later. Perhaps in this month's spanish
national tournament, or even I'll join Iñaki and Co, which are thinking
seriously on a weekend trip to Paris to play with some serious players
there. Other than you, of course ;-P
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"LSJ" <vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com> wrote in message
news:j2b2e.8122$z.2737@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net...
> salem wrote:
>> On Mon, 28 Mar 2005 20:42:34 -0600, "XZealot"
>>>Scott,
>>>If I have Red Listed 3 of my prey's vampires and I oust my prey with a
>>>Bleed (a D-action) which causes all 3 Red Listed minions to burn, do I
>>>get to go through my library, hand or ashheap and get 3 trophies?
>>
>> i'd guess 'no'.
>>
>> the bleed ousts the methuselah.
>>
>> the ousting burns the minions.
>>
>> sort of one step too far down the chain of events to trigger the
>> trophies.
>
> Correct. It is not an action to burn a minion (or minions).
> The action merely burns pool (and grabs the edge, possibly).

The action causes the minion to burn.

Logical steps
1) untapped minion bleeds a player with a redlisted vampire
2) player is ousted by bleed and all of his cards are burned
3) A freak drive may be played after the player is ousted.

A action modifier may only be played during an action.

Due the results of a D action, a redlisted vampire was burned.

The redlist rules make no distiction between whether the D-action had to be
directed at the redlisted vampire. It stated that trophies are awarded when
redlisted vampires are burned as a result of a D-Action. As you can see
from the above sequence, a trophy should be awarded.




See ruling on Path of Death and Soul.


--
Comments Welcome,
Norman S. Brown, Jr
XZealot
Archon of the Swamp
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

In message <d2hm48$rac$1@domitilla.aioe.org>, XZealot
<x_zealot@brucefoodsla.com> writes:
>The redlist rules make no distiction between whether the D-action had to be
>directed at the redlisted vampire. It stated that trophies are awarded when
>redlisted vampires are burned as a result of a D-Action. As you can see
>from the above sequence, a trophy should be awarded.
>
> See ruling on Path of Death and Soul.

The Red List rules do not include the words "a result of". It must be
the (D) action itself that does the burning.

Rulings on Path of Death and the Soul don't apply, since that makes no
restrictions on the manner of burning.

--
James Coupe "Why do so many talented people turn out to be sexual
PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D deviants? Why can't they just be normal like me and
EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2 look at internet pictures of men's cocks all day?"
13D7E668C3695D623D5D -- www.livejournal.com/users/scarletdemon/
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

XZealot wrote:
> "LSJ" <vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com> wrote in message
> news:j2b2e.8122$z.2737@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net...
>
>>salem wrote:
>>
>>>On Mon, 28 Mar 2005 20:42:34 -0600, "XZealot"
>>>
>>>>Scott,
>>>>If I have Red Listed 3 of my prey's vampires and I oust my prey with a
>>>>Bleed (a D-action) which causes all 3 Red Listed minions to burn, do I
>>>>get to go through my library, hand or ashheap and get 3 trophies?
>>>
>>>i'd guess 'no'.
>>>
>>>the bleed ousts the methuselah.
>>>
>>>the ousting burns the minions.
>>>
>>>sort of one step too far down the chain of events to trigger the
>>>trophies.
>>
>>Correct. It is not an action to burn a minion (or minions).
>>The action merely burns pool (and grabs the edge, possibly).
>
>
> The action causes the minion to burn.
>
> Logical steps
> 1) untapped minion bleeds a player with a redlisted vampire
> 2) player is ousted by bleed and all of his cards are burned
> 3) A freak drive may be played after the player is ousted.
>
> A action modifier may only be played during an action.
>
> Due the results of a D action, a redlisted vampire was burned.
>
> The redlist rules make no distiction between whether the D-action had to be
> directed at the redlisted vampire. It stated that trophies are awarded when
> redlisted vampires are burned as a result of a D-Action. As you can see
> from the above sequence, a trophy should be awarded.

The logic steps above show that the burning happened whilst an action
was "active". I never claimed otherwise.

I did note, however, that the minion was not burned as an action, which
is different than "during an action".

> See ruling on Path of Death and Soul.

PoDatS makes no requirement of "as an action".

--
LSJ (vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/