M.2 wifi assistance needed

Diltoid24

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2011
I'm new to this M.2 world. I heard the wifi chips are pretty damn fast, and it would free up a usb slot as I'm currently using a usb wifi dongle. Can anyone point me towards a good M.2 (Key E) wifi card? My motherboard is an ASRock z370 Extreme4, and I believe it takes Key E M.2 cards.

Solution

No one can stop you from buying whatever you want, but here are the facts:
-It looks like you haven't checked the...

Diltoid24

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2011

This isn't even remotely close to what I asked.. I don't need a riser kit or adapter, my motherboard already has 2 M.2 slots built in. What I need is an actual wifi M.2 Key E card.

Diltoid24

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2011

So very unhelpful. Your lack of inspiration forced me to read through my motherboard's manual a second time, and I found what I was lacking. It supports M.2 (Key E) wifi/BT Modules of the type 2230. That's what I should have searched for, 2230 modules. And since you think they don't exist, here's a link for your browsing enjoyment.

https://www.google.com/search?q=2230+wifi+module&client=firefox-b-1&source=lnms&tbm=shop&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwi16P7UhcDZAhUC3GMKHSbYDFcQ_AUICigB&biw=1920&bih=966

vmfantom

Notable
Nov 28, 2017

No one can stop you from buying whatever you want, but here are the facts:
-It looks like you haven't checked the PHY rate of the 2230 wifi cards to see if they're any faster than a conventional PCIe card like the 4x4:4 PCE-AC88
-Most 2230 cards do 867 Mbps or less on 802.11ac, while the PCE-AC88 can do 2.167 Gbps
-The PCIe bus isn't a bottleneck on 802.11ac anyway, since PCIe 2.0 x1 can handle 500 MBps/4 Gbps
-You have a desktop mobo, yet you want to get a 2230 wifi card (designed for laptops) that will require U.FL/IPX or MHF4 to SMA/RP-SMA pigtails to attach conventional rubber duck antennas to (sort of like this adapter).