Discussion Mac OS 11 Big Sur: Performances and interface: invitation for notations and comments.

Nov 13, 2020
Mac OS 11 Big Sur makes me really satisfied, to say the least. Although the download size is slightly higher than 12 Go, (to take the 2 kinds of processors in consideration: Intel, and the upcoming Apple Silicon), my Intel MacBook Pro, of mid-2014 (the latest with Nvidia graphical processor) became much more reactive, with our new Operating System.
I am a pro-Apple, but the difference is really sensibly seen; I think that it is my best enthusiasm of a Mac OS for about 20 years (since X.6 Leopard or so).

So let’s imagine on the upcoming MacBook Air based on Apple Silicon, having higher performances than a MacBook Pro of a few years earlier only!..

The sole thing which does not convince me totally, is the translucid menus bar, which is not more practically visible for me. I also would like the coming back of my battery percentage display in the bar.

About the preliminaries:
I tried the 12 Go download since 19H25 UTC+1; it occurred in my case that it failed 3 times; I thought that I had enough hard memory as I has 33 Go and the upgrade size was of 12 Go, but at the 3rd attempt, I clicked on “more informations”, and saw on Apple’s site that the required space was in fact of 35,5 Go – surely to avoid some fragmentation I think.

As far as I backuped my Bootcamp and Mac OS X.15 Catalina, deleted some HP softwares having had an expired certificate, wholly deleted the rests of a third-part disk optimizer (which was not for SSD or Flash), I nevertheless omitted to update the 11 Go XCode (which could not download either, with my previous 33 available Go).

So I update XCode in the interval, and kept a look at the remaining hard memory size, which was more than the required 35,5 Go – so Mac OS 11 Big Sur downloaded in 7 hours, since about midnight to about 7H a. m.