Question Maintain constant cpu frequency

Jan 11, 2023
Hi all, many thanks for any assistance
I have a AORUS MASTER x570 and Ryzen 5950x processor. I want to maintain a constant cpu frequency in all utilization levels
E.g when I have 3% utilization I still want a constant 3ghz freq level with no drops.

So far have tried

Power options in windows set to full
Bios options global c states off, p state0 on
All other power saving throttling settings off
That I know of.

Is there anything iam missing? Also to note iam not reaching thermal throttling levels

The reason I need this is because whilst playing windows 98 games on emulators like pcem I get stuttering coinciding with the frequency levels changing due to varying loads of the emulator and game

Many thanks in advance

The easiest way to set a constant frequency is to go into BIOS and set the multiplier value to something. This will cause the CPU to run at 100 * multiplier speed at all times.

Alternatively you can tell the OS to not boost the CPU by open up PowerShell as an Administrator and input the following: powercfg -attributes sub_processor perfboostmode -attrib_hide

Then go to Control Panel -> Hardware and Sound -> Power Options and go into the advanced options for a power plan. You should see this:
lQTEe8Z.png

Set it to "Disabled"

Jan 11, 2023
hi, many thanks for your quick reply. Unfortunately both methods did not work. When i open ryzen master and look at the current clock speed it changes constantly between 200mhz -1300mhz max is set to 2000mhz as in bios cpu freq and multiplier. is there a combination of setting to make it work maybe?

Jan 11, 2023
It slipped my mind that you have 5950X. Another issue is the programs you run aren't happy if their threads get put onto another CCX. You may have to lock the affinity of the application to one half or the other.