Question Mechanical SATA drive can't be initialised

bwallx

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2014
After swapping mobos and rebuilding PC, a SATA Western Digital 3Tb drive is no longer 'seen' by Win 10 and Aoemei Partition Manager says it needs Initialising. I tried both MBR & GPT but it failed "incorrect function".

DMDE hund acessing the drive till I aborted. But once or twice over a period of days of me fiddling, it did read the drive but as I'm not technical it didn't help!

I used a USB booted Hirens utility but nothing on there could see it or if it did reported it couldn't do anything. Nothing useful. Except one did report LBA=0 and ATA version=0 plus describes as:-

SATA \\?\SCSI#disk&even&prod#48 then a very long string of characters.

As you can imagine, there is a lot of stuff on that drive. Any suggestions on how to get it to work please?

Maximus Ranger VII mobo, i7 and Win 10 64

Please start with full list of components BEFORE the rebuild, then list new ones.
After swapping mobos
Same mobo as before or different? If different, did you do clean Windows install afterwards?
Does the BIOS sees the drive correctly?
Tried connecting it to different SATA port? Maybe the port used is disabled on new board due to using other drives/devices.
But once or twice over a period of days of me fiddling, it did read the drive
It would certainly help if you could specify what exactly you did to make it work (if that was something different than just trying same things 100 times).

bwallx

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2014
OK I wasn't clear, sorry.

Same mobo during all this, I only mentioned it to give background as to why I was fiddling. I had been having trouble on the old mobo - Asus Z87 - with the boot drive not always booting. I'll be posting about that separately.

The UEFI bios does not see the drive. I loaded default bios settings and also tried auto or manual CSM but that was just guessing on my part and made no difference.

I swapped sata cables and ports.