Memory failed Memtest now works???

Status
Not open for further replies.

footballcoach

Honorable
Apr 27, 2012
Hi all,

I have a Maximus III Formula and have a technical question regarding memory.

Relevant specs:

ASUS Maximus III Formula LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL
Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series CWCH50-1 120mm High Performance CPU Cooler

So, over the last 3-4 days I started to experience frequent BSOD and/or restarts. After a system restore did not resolve the issue I ran a debugger on the .dmp files and the BSODs were caused by different applications, but all pointed to having an issue with memory R/W.

I had been overclocking the CPU for about 4 months with the Asus BIOS overclocker Auto-tuning feature. However, the memory has always been running at 1600 rated spec @ 1.51v. After BSODs started I removed all CPU overclocking and am now running at stock speeds. Memory is still at 1600 and 1.51v.

So, I set about testing the memory. I booted Memtest x86 ISO and immediately racked up 1700+ errors. So, I thought probably bad ram. I took the PC outside and blew the dust out with my air compressor and then re-seated the 4 memory sticks in the original slots so I could keep track of which stick might be bad. Ran Memtest again and it failed immediately in similar fashion.

So, I pulled the two original black sticks [A1B1=Red, A2,B2=Black]. I ran Memtest with the red sticks and all tests were OK. So then I swapped the black sticks into the red banks. Ran Memtest and all tests were OK again. So, at this point I am a bit puzzled and considering that one of the A2D2 slots may be bad.