Memory & Mainboard buses for P4. HELP!

t4h

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2001
I've heard that Pentium 4 processors work best with two clips of memory at a certain bus (do you know which it is?), so I thought "Great, I'll just buy my memory according to that bus!", but no...

My motherboard, Asus P4T, declares that it's "Max System Bus" is set to 100 Mhz, does that mean that you only can use PC100 memories? Can you use memories at all with 300 Mhz bus?

I also read here at this site that RDRAM is the preferred sort of memory for P4 CPU's, what if I had one old PC100 64 MB clip of memory and a brand-new RDRAM clip of 128 MB @ 300 MHz plugged in at the same time?

As you understand from these questions, I am a bit of a newbie on this area. It would be really nice if someone would cover the entire subject. I'm having a problem over here.

---
/ Topaz

t4h

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2001
Nope...

Crucial's "Memory Finder" was no good for me, when I listed my motherboard, they said no components were availiable. I still have *no clue* what memory to buy... Thanks anyway...

---
/ Topaz

t4h

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2001
Ok, here are the questions that would solve it all:

• Why do *all* mainboards for Pentium 4 on this site have a Max System Bus of 100 or 133 MHz when both the CPU and the RDRAM have so much more capacity?

• Doesn't the Max System Bus limit the clock of the memory to either 100 or 133 MHz?

• What's Front Side Bus?

---
/ Topaz

wapaaga

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2001
the p4 actually has a 100 mhz frontside bus but it is quad pumped thats why it say it is 400 mhz

you have to use rdram in a p4 system and you have to buy two sticks of them at the same speed and same size
get the 800 it is best performing don't even get the 600

the front side bus is what you use to bassically set the speed of the prosscer like if you have a 1.7 ghz p4 then the mlutplier is set to 17 x 100= 1700
also a higher fsb help out performance