Question Memory not recognized in DIMMB1 and DIMMB2.

Aug 30, 2020
My first build is using an MSI MPG Z490 Gaming Plus mobo. I have 2x 16G Vengeance RGB Pro memory in DIMMS slots 2 and 4 (DIMMA2 and DIMMB2). I could power up but could not boot. EZ LED diagnostics were flashing for both "CPU is not detected or fail" and "DRAM is not detected or fail."

After many other checks, I removed the memory from DIMMB2 and successfully booted with only one 16G card in DIMMA2. I swapped DIMMs and it still worked (the other card worked in DIMMA2.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3l3zlftifylg1rz/20200830_095504-Z490_with_one_mem_removed.jpg?dl=0

Next I put both cards in A1 and A2 (slots 1 and 2). It booted, but warned that it was not the optimal memory configuration.

No combo of memory using only DIMMB1 and DIMMB2 or both worked.

Do I have a bad board? Any suggestions? This is my first time through, so I may be overlooking something obvious.

My first build is using an MSI MPG Z490 Gaming Plus mobo. I have 2x 16G Vengeance RGB Pro memory in DIMMS slots 2 and 4 (DIMMA2 and DIMMB2). I could power up but could not boot. EZ LED diagnostics were flashing for both "CPU is not detected or fail" and "DRAM is not detected or fail."

After many other checks, I removed the memory from DIMMB2 and successfully booted with only one 16G card in DIMMA2. I swapped DIMMs and it still worked (the other card worked in DIMMA2.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3l3zlftifylg1rz/20200830_095504-Z490_with_one_mem_removed.jpg?dl=0

Next I put both cards in A1 and A2 (slots 1 and 2). It booted, but warned that it was not the optimal memory configuration.

No combo of memory using only DIMMB1 and DIMMB2 or both worked.

Do I have a bad board? Any suggestions? This is my first time through, so I may be overlooking something obvious.
What does you manual say about RAM DIMM placements ?
It's a genuine question as MSI support website is down and therefore I have no access to the manual

Reactions: Howard525
Aug 30, 2020