Memory to get the best out of E6600

gurufast

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2007
Hi.
I'm in the process of building a new pc which im planning to overclock as much as possible. it will consist of E6600 and P5b Deluxe.
What do you think would be the best choice of memory for it?

As for the specs:

MOBO: Asus P5B Deluxe
CASE: Antec P180B
CPU: Intel Core Duo 2 E6600
CPU COOLER: Scythe Infinity CPU Cooler
GFX: eVGA 8800GTX
(HDD1: WD Raptor 150 GB)
HDD2s: 2x 320GB, Barracuda

I was thinking of Corsair TWIN2X2048-8500C5 myself but then again I'm a novice when it comes to hardware. Any feedback about the rest of the specs would be nice too.

p8ntslinger676

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2005
anything that is DDR2 1000 or high will do you good, right now Im running OCZ GOLD XTC DDR2 1000 with my e6600 and the only thing that is restricting me right now is my cooling (im running a water cooling setup that I put together) and as of right now Im up to 4GHz but can definitely go high seeing as there are pretty much no memory restrictions which is a very good thing. Once I get it under phase change cooling or Dry Ice I will probably be able to get to 4.5GHz if not higher. As for your setup you too will not be limited by the memory but instead by your cooling, so I suggest getting a quality Phase Change unit or build yourself one, plus it is a lot of fun to build them:D here is the best place to find everything you will ever need to know about phase change:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=80

Here is the current e6600 World Record and it is happily running on PC 8500, under LN2, so it just goes to show that the memory can easily keep up it is more of the cooling that is needed in order to get these massive overclocks.

9609spi1mxx4.jpg

cattlebaron

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2006