Question Migrating from HDD to SSD - Dell XPS Tower. How do I do it correctly?

militarydave

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2013
What up team?

I have a Dell XPS Tower (10th gen Intel i3 - 10100 @ 3.60 GHz / 4-core, 6M cache / 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD with 360W PSU) that I use for mostly for working, (Office programs, spreadsheets, internet browsing, etc.) that I would like to add an SSD as the primary drive.

I recently updated to Windows 11 Home and noticed a drop in response time when booting up, opening simple stuff like word documents or load times on certain webpages such as Amazon when using Chrome. The HDD was slow prior to Windows 11, and now its downright slow.

I found a rather decently priced SSD (Sandisk, 1TB) at Best buy thats 5 minutes away from me.

Does anyone know how I can migrate all my stuff from my HDD to SSD? Is it really just plug-and-play (as in as soon as I click the SSD into place does the computer recognize it?)

I'm not tech savvy when it comes to building PC's or anything (guns are my thing lol) and would like to take this on myself as a DIY if there is a rather effective way to migrate/transfer/clone the HDD to SDD to boot up quicker.

I have an older XPS 13 laptop with SDD that despite being a 2017 model, that thing fires right up. The XPS Tower is a late 2020 model (XPS 8940).

Any help, advice, suggestions are greatly appreciated.

P.S. - I don't mind paying for a migrating software if it in fact works correctly.

v/r,

MD

P.S. - I don't mind paying for a migrating software if it in fact works correctly.

v/r,

MD

You shouldn't have to pay a dime.

Macrium Reflect Free Edition is the standard advice here.

You can do what you want by either cloning or imaging. Either can work or fail. If one fails, try the other. Macrium does both.

Success rate in the high 90 percentile.

Probably could be done in an hour or so, depending on how much stuff you have and how fast your CPU is. Might take longer for a first-timer.