[SOLVED] Migrating RAID1 from Intel (Z87) to AMD (x570) - can it by done?

Aug 8, 2019
dodancs.moow.info
Hey all!

First of all, this is my first time posting here and also not native speaker, so please forgive me my mistakes and if I explained something incorrectly, let me know and I will edit it.

So, this is my current setup: a MSI Z87M Gaming motherboard. It's an Intel platform and I have two SSDs in the system, plus a RAID-1 4TB mirrored storage for work and large files.

A couple of days ago, I decided it was time to move to a newer platform, since this old one has served me very well in the past years, but it's getting rather slow for the work I intend to do.

That's why I bought a new Ryzen 5 3600X + MSI MPG X570 GAMING EDGE WIFI motherboard.

It hasn't arrived yet, but the idea started bugging me. I have an Intel RAID-1 array in my system, no left-over storage on my hands to copy the files to and I want to move to an AMD platform.

Is there any chance that I would be able to just move the RAID array to the new system and it could work? I am not sure if the RAID-1 array has any other special things on the disk or if it's just a normal filesystem which could be accessed on any platform, for example if you grabbed one of the disks from the array and connected them into an external enclosure, if you would be able to access the files on there or still would need the Intel raid chipset to deal with the way the disk is initialized and used?

I do not want to buy another 4TB spare to move the files, nor a smaller disk and make a compressed backup of the current RAID array on it, since that is a waste of money or a lot of time.

Do any of you guys have experienced and worked through this kind of issue? Has anybody tried this?

I am hoping that somebody has already been successfull, but if not, I will try it on my own and hopefully retain all my data and reach my goal.

Thank you all in advance!

Solution