Migrating windows 10 to new computer and new drive

califax

Commendable
Jun 13, 2016
I am building a new gaming rig and will be reusing a few components from my current computer (optical drive, hard drive, case). The new computer will have a SSD which I want to install windows on, and my old hard drive (which currently has the windows install).

I am wondering if someone could briefly explain the steps I should take to effectively move my windows to the SSD on the new rig (or point me to a guide). I have a retail version of windows 10 (not OEM) which I believe means that I can use that key on my new computer provided my old one is no longer operational.

I'm not sure if it's as simple as putting both drives into the new rig and installing a fresh copy to the SSD via a USB? Will the presence of the windows files on my old HD interfere?

Sorry I'm new to this... Note also that my current PC's windows 10 was the free upgrade from 7

Solution
Put ssd only in pc,
install win 10 on it
once install is complete and you know pc boots from ssd, install old hdd.

if old hdd were in when you install win 10, PC would see it during install and maybe put files on it. This avoids that happening.

Was the old hdd an old win 7 drive updated to 10 or a fresh install of win 10?
If its the first, then you shouldn't have any problems having old and new in PC.
If hdd was a fresh install of win 10, it might cause pc to boot from it instead of ssd

The boot method used by Win 8 & 10 isn't like Win 7. It doesn't look for a boot sector, it looks for a file name to boot, and both your drives would have that file on them, so bios could find both and offer them at boot.

Easiest way to avoid that...

Colif

Win 11 Master
Put ssd only in pc,
install win 10 on it
once install is complete and you know pc boots from ssd, install old hdd.

if old hdd were in when you install win 10, PC would see it during install and maybe put files on it. This avoids that happening.