Mini ITX power supply in case that fits ATX

jim90808

Commendable
Mar 9, 2016
I got a COOLER MASTER Elite and bought an 400W mini-ITX power supply to go with it. When I got the case, I realized it can fit a full size ATX power supply (in my own defense the case I original ordered was out of stock, so after I already had the power supply I bought the COOLER MASTER, not noticing that it said it would fit an ATX power supply). So I put it together anyway, but of course I have a hole in the back of the case as the mini-ITX power supply doesn't fully cover the opening the case has for the ATX power supply.

Suggestions?

ie. Leave it, cover it, return the power supply and get an ATX sized one, etc..?

Barty1884

Retired Moderator
Which CM Elite? I have the Elite 110, and honestly, I would avoid using a full ATX PSU if I were to build in one again.

I'm assuming you have an SFX PSU? As it's not as "tall" as a full ATX PSU, it won't reach the lower mounting holes - it will essentially "hang" from the screws that you can secure it with.

It really depends how secure it feels to you. There's absolutely no problem in securing it that way - and the increased room to work with would be great (I imagine).

Theres zero harm in leaving it as it is, I wouldn't bother trying to come up with ways to cover the gap etc, and I would definitely suggest you avoid going the ATX route, unless you have to.

I agree with jim. Get a PSU that's designed for that case. You've probably got that mini-ITX PSU secured to the case with only two screws instead of four, and that's not advisable, not least because it will vibrate causing increased noise that will get on your nerves.

If you're going to build a PC, use the right components.

jim90808

Commendable
Mar 9, 2016