Modern SSD For Old Motherboard?

Lord Solon

Commendable
Apr 9, 2017
Hi everyone,

I've been using tom's Hardware as a reference guide since the mid 2000's and it has solved countless problems and answered many questions over the years. It's a great site/community.

I have a reasonably old pc setup and I'm looking to get a SSD to breathe some extra life back into it. From what I've read a PCIe interface is always faster than using SATA however due to the age of my motherboard I know for sure that it doesn't have a M.2 slot. I don't want to use a SATA connection so I was thinking of getting a M.2 to PCIe adapter card and connecting it that way.

Again, due to the age of my motherboard I'm not sure if I will get superior speed this way compared to using SATA 3.

I'd like to get something along the lines of MyDigitalSSD bpx series or Samsung 960 EVO.

I want to use it as my boot and windows drive plus whatever games I can fit on it and use my old HDD for data storage.

Is this a viable idea?

My setup is,

Motherboard - Gigabyte 890fxa ud5 revision 2.0 with f6 BIOS
Processor - Phenom II 1090T BE @ 4Ghz
Cooling - Frostflow 240L
Case - Coolermaster Scout
RAM - 16Gb (4x4Gb) G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL DDR 3 sticks
Graphics - AMD R9 290X
Storage - 1Tb Western Digital 7200rpm (from 2010)
PSU - Seasonic 850HT Active PFC F3 (from 2010)
Operating System - Windows 10

Solution

Absolutely yes.
Or the Crucial MX300.

And with sticky velcro, mount that thing anywhere.

Lord Solon

Commendable
Apr 9, 2017
After doing some more research it looks like if my mobo doesn't support NVMe then it's impossible to use a PCIe ssd as a boot drive which is what I want. The thing is that I've modded my case over the years and I no longer have a hard drive bay or floppy drive bay. Currently I sit my hard drive on top of my dvd drive with little to no room for anything else. Mounting the ssd into a pcie slot via an adapter would have solved my problem of placement.