Moniter won't turn on after installing new graphics card

mattrickman

Honorable
Jul 18, 2013
So I bought a new graphics card(Geforce GTX 650Ti) and a new power supply(supernova NEX 650G). After I installed them both(note:this is my first time dealing with installing hardware) I tried turning on my computer and my moniter stayed blank and power save mode. The power supply is running fine, but for some reason my moniter won't turn on with new graphics card installed. I've seen some people say to try and uninstall all old graphics card stuff and install all the drivers for your new one. Should I try this? Or is there another solution?

By the way my old graphics card is a nvidia geforce gt520

Solution
Yes remove the old drivers, but I've never seen old drivers cause a monitor to stay in sleep mode. I'm confident the old drivers are no the problem, but you should still remove them for other reasons. Since the drivers don't become an issue into Windows starts. Most likely your gpu is not seated correctly. Try to remove and place the video card again.

Do you hear a POST beep, are the fans turning, is the motherboard light on? IF yes to all, your psu should be fine.

Next check that there is power from the psu to the card. The connectors should be firm.

After that, check the display cable from vga/dvi/hdmi to the monitor is firmly connected.

theclouds

Honorable
Jun 24, 2013
Yes remove the old drivers, but I've never seen old drivers cause a monitor to stay in sleep mode. I'm confident the old drivers are no the problem, but you should still remove them for other reasons. Since the drivers don't become an issue into Windows starts. Most likely your gpu is not seated correctly. Try to remove and place the video card again.

Do you hear a POST beep, are the fans turning, is the motherboard light on? IF yes to all, your psu should be fine.

Next check that there is power from the psu to the card. The connectors should be firm.