Monitor for console gaming!

bestianera89

Honorable
Jun 18, 2013
Hi guys! i have 300€/£260/$390 (max 300£) and i need a new monitor for my playstation 3 and for my future playstation4. Im not an expert but i now that what i dead is a 24" with low input lag and ( im not sure about this ) i DONT need 120hz or more because for a console the maximum is 60hz right ? i think even the new generation are going to use just 60hz. Also 1:1 pixel map, so my ps3 games are displayed correctly ?

i was close to buy Dell Ultrasharp U2412M but is WITHOUT HDMI, its mean less performance ?

What i really need and what you suggest as monitor for console ? I dont care about movie, photoshop, 3D e PC i will use it just for Playstation.

Thanks

Matteo

for $390 you can buy a 32" lcdtv which is probably going to suit you a whole lot better than a small monitor.

in general what you want is 1920x1080p and HDCP support. i'm not sure about ps4 but ps3 works good on 60hz.

the 2412m is an e-ips panel at 1920x1200 which isnt really all that suited for your purposes. the resolution is not 1080p which is likely the resolution ps4 will use (as ps3 is 720 or 1080p). e-ips really isnt all that better than cheaper tn panels except for the much wider viewing angle. personally i would prefer e-ips over tn just for the viewing angle but tastes differ and you do pay more for e-ips.

you can use a dvi to hdmi adapter. essentially both are the same quality. i wouldnt say there is less quality over dvi than hdmi.

----------------

what do i suggest?

for just ps3/ps4 gaming you might be better suited with a 1080p 60hz 32" lcd tv.

Depends on your situation whether a TV would be better than a normal monitor, mainly the distance you plan to sit from the screen. The further away, you want it to get bigger.

HDMI and DVI both use the same digital signal, theres no difference in image quality between them. The only concern would be that HDMI can carry an audio signal, which DVI cant.