Monitor/GPU loses signal/crashes while playing games.

786michael

Reputable
Aug 6, 2014
This is going to be a semi-detailed description of my problem, so bear with me.

It all started out as an average day playing CS:GO, practicing my aim, so on and so forth, on my Samsung 60hz 1680x1050 monitor. Then I went to play in the competitive mode and after 20 minutes i hear a loud buzz in my headphones, and the monitor crashes. At first i thought " eh the cable disconnected, i'll unplug it and plug it back in". Then i restarted the computer, opened the game, reconnected, played for around 10 minutes, then it crashed again. So i stopped playing CS:GO Competitive for like 1-2 hours.

Then, my new monitor arrived via courier, a BenQ XL2411Z, 144hz, 1920x1080. I fiddled around with the settings and started playing CS:GO on a public server. Nothing went wrong for 1-2 hours. After that, i started playing Competitive once more and, yet again, after 20 minutes, i hear the same quiet buzz in my headphones, the monitor goes black, and there is a " NO SIGNAL " window in the bottom right corner.

I thought that maybe it was because of that new 340.52 driver ( which only optimizes on newer cards/adds to older cards nVidia SHIELD gameplay ), so i rolled back the driver, started again playing Competitive, then after 25-30 minutes same problem happens. Headphone buzz, " NO SIGNAL " on the screen.

Specs:

Motherboard: INTEL DZ68DB
Processor: INTEL Core i5-2500 3.30Ghz
8GB RAM DDR5
GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX460 1GB
Memory: 500GB HDD + 240GB SSD

I would very much appreciate if you found a sollution to this other than underclocking the GPU, because this problem exists on every series' GPU ( yes, even 700 series ).

First of all download GPU-Z and use it to check your GPU's temperature during gaming. Anything over 80C is cause for concern.

http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/