Monitor won't work after replacing SIMM RAM

Victor0011

Reputable
Jun 26, 2014
Hello,

Two days ago, I got an old computer (Intel Pentium, two 4MB SIMM RAM sticks...): an Epson Endeavor IIp. I only wanted to open it and have a look, as I'm a beginner on hardware stuff.

So I decided to remove both RAMs, just to learn how to upgrade one in future cases, and I put them back. I put the cover back and I booted my PC but... Nothing happens. The fan and the lights turn on, and the CPU appears to be working properly, but the monitor won't turn on. I checked whether all was well conencted and so they are, so I don't know what the problem is. Do you have any idea?

Thank you so much,

Victor

PS: I don't have access to BIOS, as the monitor is completely off (it only has the orange light which indicates it's off).

Victor0011

Reputable
Jun 26, 2014

Sorry, said wrong: when the monitor is ON but there's nothing on screen (as if in a working PC I push the OFF button) it has an orange light.

Jake Fister

Reputable
Jun 4, 2014
I don't know how the RAM would affect your monitor, that's strange. Check to make sure your video card is still secure and all your connections are good. I know you've probably already tried that but I'm not sure why else it would quit working. Lemme know how that works and we'll go from there.

Victor0011

Reputable
Jun 26, 2014

I haven't touched the video card, why can it affect it? Anyways, I'll take it out and I'll return it back, and I'll tell you how is it. Thank you!!

EDIT: I've been looking and I see my video card is integrated, what should I do next?

Ahhh, SIMM Ram, That brings back some memories! :)

Caution: You are dealing with some old school static sensitive stuff there, make sure when inside the case one hand stays on a metal surface of the case to keep you grounded.

Pull the memory modules back out, and re-seat them again.

What's the dust situation with that old machine?