Question Monitors flash black for a few seconds randomly

Dec 12, 2019
First I want to start by saying I am pretty new to any kind of pc building, I know just enough to assemble my pc and pick my way through basic setup. There is a good chance that there is something I am missing or didn't know I need to do.

I have a PC that I built maybe 2 or 3 years ago. I originally built it without any graphics card so I recently decided to add a graphics card to the system. I decided to go with a Geforce GTX1050ti after some research. I am not gaming much but I do run 2 monitors and do some video editing. I can give the rest of my pc specs if needed as well, I have CPUID and can give whatever specs it reads.

Problem has recently started where both monitors will flash black for a few seconds, then come back on. If I have a video playing the audio never stops and works perfectly the entire time. If I am using both monitors everything on the second monitor will be moved over to the main monitor when they turn back on. I never had this issue before installing the graphics card. I have tried to uninstall the display drivers for the graphics card, and checked to be sure the card is seating correctly in the motherboard. I have been reading about similar issues but can't seem to solve my problem. Everything seemed to work fine for a month or 2 after installing the graphics card. The flash happens very randomly, sometimes will happen every couple minutes, sometimes will not happen at all or just once. I ran a test with Cinebench and the flash did not occur during the test. Normally I am just watching youtube or browsing the internet when the flash happens, so not anything really loading the computer.